Eddie Roberts’ ‘Rare Sounds’ Vinyl Club Details Box 2 ‘Everywhere You Go’

By Nate Todd Feb 25, 2021 1:44 pm PST

Eddie Roberts announced the releases for his next Rare Sounds vinyl set dubbed Everywhere You Go and arriving via Roberts’ Color Red label. The second installment in the vinyl club series features records from The Poets Of Rhythm, Roberts’ pre-The New Mastersounds band The Three Deuces and Breakestra.

Eddie Roberts’ Rare Sounds vinyl club tells the story of the funk and soul revival of the 1990s and early 2000s. The first entry in Rare Sounds Box 2 is from a band that was on the vanguard of the movement, Munich, Germany’s The Poets Of Rhythm, and their 1993 debut album, Practice What You Preach. The LP “kickstarted the whole analog funk & soul scene that so many of us have been part of for the last 30 years. A true classic!” Roberts said in a statement.

Box 2 also features a live recording from Eddie Roberts’ The Three Deuces featuring Roberts on guitar, Bill White on drums and Ian Rose on organ. The album, Keep On It, was captured at the Yardbird Suite Club in Leeds, UK and is seeing its first ever vinyl pressing. The final entry is from the Los Angeles collective Breakestra and the debut The Live Mix Part 1. The record also features a bonus track, “Everywhere You Go.” Rare Sounds members also have the option of adding the WRD Trio — Roberts, keyboardist Robert Walter and drummer Adam Deitch — debut album The Hit.

Head here to join Rare Sounds and purchase Box 2.

JamBase Collections