Kamasi Washington, Robert Glasper, Terrace Martin & 9th Wonder Form Supergroup Dinner Party

By Scott Bernstein Jun 25, 2020 7:49 am PDT

New supergroup Dinner Party features Kamasi Washington, Robert Glasper, Terrace Martin and 9th Wonder. The band will release their self-titled debut album on July 10 via Sounds Of Crenshaw/Empire and previewed the LP by sharing lead single “Freeze Tag.”

“Freeze Tag” finds Dinner Party collaborating with Phoelix. Brooklyn Vegan reported on the new supergroup and noted the following about the connections between the musicians:

This group is full of musicians who have been leading the jazz/hip hop crossover moment for years, and it’s no surprise to hear how much chemistry they have on this song, especially since most of them have collaborated before. Terrace Martin and Robert Glasper both play in the excellent group R+R=NOW; Terrace, Robert, and Kamasi all contributed to Kendrick Lamar’s To Pimp A Butterfly; Terrace actually just teamed with Kamasi Washington on the already-iconic protest song “Pig Feet” and he just teamed with Robert on a live session performance of Leon Bridges’ “Sweeter”; both Terrace and Robert have worked with 9th Wonder multiple times; the list goes on.

Phoelix also appears on Dinner Party tracks “Sleepless Nights,” “Love You Bad” and “From My Heart And My Soul.” Watch the “Freeze Tag” video below:


Dinner Party Tracklist

  1. Sleepless Nights (feat. Phoelix)
  2. Love You Bad (feat. Phoelix)
  3. From My Heart And My Soul (feat. Phoelix)
  4. First Responders
  5. The Mighty Tree
  6. Freeze Tag (feat. Phoelix)
  7. Luv U
JamBase Live Video Archive
JamBase Live Video Archive
JamBase Collections