Deer Tick Announces New Album ‘Emotional Contracts’ & Shares Singles, Tour Dates

Listen to the lead single “Forgiving Ties” and the eight-minute closer “The Real Thing” off their upcoming ATO Records debut.

By Andy Kahn Apr 25, 2023 1:02 pm PDT

Deer Tick will make their ATO Records debut with the release of their new album, Emotional Contracts, set to arrive on June 16. The band from Providence, Rhode Island shared the album’s lead single, “Forgiving Ties,” and closing track “The Real Thing,” as well as confirmed tour dates in support of the record’s release.

Deer Tick guitarist/vocalist John McCauley, guitarist/vocalist Ian O’Neil, drummer Dennis Ryan and bassist Christopher Ryan worked on the new album with acclaimed producer Dave Fridmann. The bulk of tracking was done live at Fridmann’s Tarbox Road Studios in Western New York. Guest vocalists include McCauley’s wife, Vanessa Carlton, as well as Courtney Marie Andrews, Kam Franklin, Angela Miller and Sheree Smith. Los Lobos saxophonist Steve Berlin also appears on the album.

Regarding Emotional Contracts, Deer Tick collectively stated:

These songs began coming into view in early 2020 before being abruptly stalled for obvious reasons. The last several years gave us the time and space to fine-tune what might be our most concise and faithful statement yet.

Each track is like a little deal you make with yourself (a contract if you will). Much of the material focuses on the fight to survive. A timely coincidence with all the COVID lockdowns and canceled shows… or perhaps all of that was subconscious inspiration. But here we are; Deer Tick lives to see another day.

Producer Dave Fridmann made sure we really poured ourselves into every minute. It was an honor and a total blast working with him. We hope all that good stuff comes across.

The 10-track Emotional Contracts is the Deer Tick’s first new work since the release of their 2017 two-volume self-titled album. The band will tour in support of the album with additionally confirmed shows slated for this November. The newly confirmed tour dates follow previously announced engagements, which include a stint supporting Jason Isbell this summer. Tickets for all new shows go on sale Friday, April 28 at 10 a.m. ET.

Scroll down for the band’s full tour itinerary and the Emotional Contracts tracklist and to stream “Forgiving Ties” and “The Real Thing.”

Loading tour dates

Forgiving Ties

The Real Thing

Emotional Contracts Tracklist

  1. If I Try to Leave
  2. Forgiving Ties
  3. Grey Matter
  4. If She Could Only See Me Now
  5. Running From Love
  6. Once in a Lifetime
  7. Disgrace
  8. My Ship
  9. A Light Can Go Out in the Heart
  10. The Real Thing
JamBase Collections