Death Cab For Cutie Announces New Live Album ‘Live At The Showbox’

By Nate Todd May 5, 2021 3:00 pm PDT

Death Cab for Cutie announced a new live album, Live At The Showbox. The band stated that the collection will only be available to purchase on Friday, May 7 via Bandcamp (for Bandcamp Friday) beginning at 12:01 a.m. PT with a portion of the proceeds benefiting the National Independent Venue Association (NIVA).

Death Cab For Cutie captured Live At The Showbox just south of their native Bellingham, Washington in Seattle over the course of a three-night run in February 2020. The concerts were supposed to be a warmup for a big 2020 the renowned rockers had planned but was put on hold due to the pandemic.

Death Cab For Cutie detailed the new live record via Bandcamp:

Like so many other artists, we expected to play a lot of shows in 2020. To gear up for the year ahead, we decided to warm up by playing an intimate, three night stand at a venue that’s near and dear to our hearts – the Showbox in Seattle. Well, 2020 didn’t quite turn out like we had planned – but happily those three magical nights last February did, and we’re glad to say that we had them recorded!

Live At The Showbox is a 17-track selection of songs from those three wonderful evenings, and it will be available for 24 hours only starting at 12:01am PT on Friday 5/7, exclusively on Bandcamp. A portion of the proceeds will be donated to the National Independent Venue Association (, who are doing crucial work to ensure that venues like the Showbox will still be there on the other end of this pandemic.

Thanks as always for listening, and we’ll see YOU on the other end of this pandemic, too!



The album features standout performances from the three-night stand including album opener “A Movie Script Ending” as well as favorites like “The Ghosts Of Beverly Drive,” “I Will Possess Your Heart,” “Northern Lights” and more. The run also saw DCFC performing their landmark 2003 album, Transatlanticism, in its entirety and Live At The Showbox includes “The New Year” and the LP’s title track to close out the live album.

Head here to purchase Live At The Showbox on May 7.

Live At The Showbox Tracklist:

  1. A Movie Script Ending – Live at The Showbox
  2. The New Year – Live at The Showbox
  3. The Ghosts of Beverly Drive – Live at The Showbox
  4. Long Division – Live at The Showbox
  5. Gold Rush – Live at The Showbox
  6. Company Calls – Live at The Showbox
  7. Summer Skin – Live at The Showbox
  8. I Will Follow You into the Dark – Live at The Showbox
  9. I Will Possess Your Heart – Live at The Showbox
  10. Black Sun – Live at The Showbox
  11. Northern Lights – Live at The Showbox
  12. Cath… – Live at The Showbox
  13. We Looked Like Giants – Live at The Showbox
  14. Soul Meets Body – Live at The Showbox
  15. 60 & Punk – Live at The Showbox
  16. Tiny Vessels – Live at The Showbox
  17. Transatlanticism – Live at The Showbox
JamBase Collections