David Crosby Announces New Album ‘For Free’ & Shares Single Featuring Michael McDonald

By Scott Bernstein May 20, 2021 6:55 am PDT

Legendary musician David Crosby returns with For Free, a new studio album due out via BMG on July 23. Crosby is joined by a number of guests on the LP including Michael McDonald, Sarah Jarosz and Steely Dan‘s Donald Fagen. McDonald contributed to For Free’s opening track and lead single, “River Rise,” which arrived today.

David Crosby created the 10-track follow-up to 2018’s Here If You Listen with his son, multi-instrumentalist James Raymond. James also produced For Free. “Can you imagine what it’s like to connect with your son and find out that he’s incredibly talented—a great composer, a great poet, and a really fine songwriter and musician all around?” Crosby asked. “We’re such good friends and we work so well together, and we’ll each go to any length to create the highest-quality songs we can.”

For Free takes its title from a Joni Mitchell classic Crosby recorded with Jarosz for the project. “Joni’s the greatest living singer/songwriter, and ‘For Free’ is one of her simplest,” David added. “It’s one of my favorite songs because I love what it says about the spirit of music and what compels you to play.”

“River Rise” was penned by David Crosby, James Raymond and Michael McDonald. “‘River Rise’ came from wanting to write something very evocative of California, but almost with a country-song perspective—something that speaks to the empowerment of the everyman or everywoman,” explained Raymond of a track that features powerful harmony vocals from McDonald.

Stream David Crosby’s “River Rise” below:

For Free Tracklist

  1. River Rise (featuring Michael McDonald)
  2. I Think
  3. The Other Side Of Midnight
  4. Rodriguez For A Night
  5. Secret Dancer
  6. Ships In The Night
  7. For Free (featuring Sarah Jarosz)
  8. Boxes
  9. Shot At Me
  10. I Won’t Stay For Long
JamBase Collections