Daughter Of Swords Announces Debut Album & Shares Single

By Andy Kahn May 1, 2019 7:50 am PDT

Mountain Man’s Alexandra Sauser-Monnig shared “Dawnbreaker,” the title track from her debut album as Daughter Of Swords. Nonesuch Records will release Dawnbreaker on June 28.

Sauser-Monnig recorded the 10-track Dawnbreaker with co-producer Nick Sanborn of Sylvan Esso. It features the previously shared single, “Gem.” Guests on the album include Sauser-Monnig’s Mountain Man band mates, Molly Sarlé and Amelia Meath (also of Sylvan Esso), as well as multi-instrumentalist Phil Cook and guitarist Ryan Gustafson.

“‘Dawnbreaker’ is about waking to the day beautifully breaking around you, and waking also to the realization that the life you’ve been leading is breaking with it,” Sauser-Monnig stated regarding the title track. “The version of ‘Dawnbreaker’ that is on the record was one of the first takes recorded of the whole record. It wasn’t really intended to be the final version of the song, but as the rest of the record came together, we realized that the rawness of that first take embodied the emotional quality that the record wanted to end on.”

Watch the “Dawnbreaker” video below:

Dawnbreaker Tracklist

  1. Fellows
  2. Gem
  3. Fields of Gold
  4. Shining Woman
  5. Grasses
  6. Easy Is Hard
  7. Rising Sun
  8. Long Leaf Pine
  9. Human
  10. Dawnbreaker

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections