Daniel Lanois Shares ‘Inverness’ Single

Hear the latest single off ‘Player, Piano.’

By Nate Todd Aug 15, 2022 3:07 pm PDT

Daniel Lanois released a new single, “Inverness.” The instrumental is set to land on the Grammy-winning songwriter and producer’s upcoming album, Player, Piano, due out on September 23 via Modern Recordings.

Player, Piano is the follow-up to Daniel Lanois’ 2021 album, Heavy Sun. Lanois — who has produced albums by Bob Dylan, Neil Young, U2 and Peter Gabriel to name a few — co-produced Player, Piano at his Toronto studio with Dangerous Wayne Lorenz. To achieve the vintage sound heard on the record, Lanois and Lorenz utilized a number of techniques like damping the piano strings with tea towels and adding felt pads to the hammers. They also used ribbon microphones placed behind the pianos rather than in front to further soften the sound.


“I decided that if I was going to make a piano record, I wanted it to sound like recordings from the ‘40s and ’50s, back when the piano was soft and beautiful,” Lanois noted. “Making this record transported me at a time when I couldn’t go anywhere,” he continued. “I got to travel to Cuba and Mexico and Jamaica. I got to visit with the ghosts of Erik Satie and Oscar Peterson and Harold Budd. I got to go back in time to my work with Brian Eno and Kate Bush and Emmylou Harris. All without ever leaving my studio.”

Lanois previously released Player, Piano’s opener “My All” and now follows with the record’s third track, “Inverness,” which he also detailed:

“‘Inverness,’ from Player, Piano, has been incubating for a while,” Lanois wrote. “It was born from a string of improvisations that I edited together. I like the sudden blue chords that this process led me to. As I hear it now, ‘Inverness’ conjures up images of far away places from another time.”

Listen to “Inverness” below:

Loading tour dates


Player, Piano Tracklist:

  1. My All
  2. Lighthouse
  3. Inverness
  4. Parade
  5. Twilight
  6. Puebla
  7. Eau
  8. ZsaZsa
  9. Clinch
  10. Wild Child
  11. Cascade
  12. Sunday Asylum
JamBase Collections