Dan Auerbach Shares Video For ‘Waiting On A Song’


On Friday, June 2 The Black Keys frontman Dan Auerbach will issue a new solo album entitled Waiting On A Song via his Easy Eye Sound record label. Today, The Arcs guitarist has unveiled the throwback video for the album’s title track.

Waiting On A Song is Auerbach’s follow-up to 2009’s Keep It Hid. Dan has described the LP as his “love letter to Nashville,” the city he’s resided in since leaving Akron, Ohio seven years ago. The 10-track effort showcases collaborations with Nashville-based icons like John Prine, Duane Eddy, Jerry Douglas, Pat McLaughlin and The Memphis Boys’ Bobby Wood and Gene Chrisman, as well as guitarist Mark Knopfler.

Dan Auerbach’s video for “Waiting On A Song” seems like it could be a missing scene from Dazed & Confused. The clip has a ’70s vibe featuring a series of friends about to embark on what they hope will be “the best summer of our lives.” Both Prine and McLaughlin appear in the video, which shows the group of teenagers having fun by shooting at beer cans, eating at a diner, meeting girls, drinking and smoking.

“Not only does the video evoke the feeling of the song, but it also pays tribute to the great tradition of Nashville songwriters,” Auerbach told Rolling Stone. “It also has appearances by other Nashville songwriters, like Michael Heeney and Luke Dick, as well as David Ferguson who was the executive producer on the album with me.”

Watch the video for “Waiting On A Song”:

Waiting On A Song Tracklist

  1. Waiting On A Song
  2. Malibu Man
  3. Livin’ In Sin
  4. Shine On Me
  5. King Of A One Horse Town
  6. Never In My Wildest Dreams
  7. Cherrybomb
  8. Stand By My Girl
  9. Undertow
  10. Show Me

Related Bands

Related Articles

Featured Articles

More articles