Courtney Barnett Details New Album ‘Things Take Time, Take Time’ & Shares Single

Lead single "Rae Street" arrives with a video directed by W.A.M. Bleakley.

By Scott Bernstein Jul 7, 2021 11:53 am PDT

Australian singer-songwriter Courtney Barnett will release a new album entitled Things Take Time, Take Time through Mom+Pop Music / Marathon Artists on November 12. Barnett previewed her third studio album by unveiling lead single “Rae Street” as well as an accompanying video.

The follow-up to 2018’s Tell Me How You Really Feel consists of 10 tracks. Courtney penned the material on the LP over a two-year span before recording the album in Sydney, Northern NSW and Melbourne in late-2020 and early-2021.

Barnett recruited “musical kindred-spirit” producer/drummer Stella Mozgawa to work with her on the album. “Things Take Time, Take Time is yet another assured leap forward for Barnett; a breakthrough really, but not in the ways you might expect,” notes press materials announcing the LP. “This is Barnett at her most creative and adventurous – an exquisite look at Courtney’s private world, and consequently her most beautiful and intimate record to date, with songs dealing unabashedly with love, renewal, healing and self-discovery.”

The emotion-laden “Rae Street” is not only the lead single for Things Take Time, Take Time but also opens the album. Barnett tapped W.A.M. Bleakley to direct the visual for the song. Watch Courtney Barnett’s “Rae Street” video below:

Things Take Time, Take Time Tracklist

  1. Rae Street
  2. Sunfair Sundown
  3. Here’s The Thing
  4. Before You Gotta Go
  5. Turning Green
  6. Take It Day By Day
  7. If I Don’t Hear From You Tonight
  8. Write A List of Things To Look Forward To
  9. Splendour
  10. Oh The Night
JamBase Collections