Chris Robinson Brotherhood Goes Undercover At Terrapin Crossroads New Year’s Show

By Andy Kahn Jan 2, 2017 10:12 am PST

The Chris Robinson Brotherhood held a pair of concerts at Terrapin Crossroads in San Rafael, California to ring in 2017. The CRB’s December 30 show featured a set of Bob Dylan covers and a set of Grateful Dead staples and New Year’s Eve once again saw the group eschewing originals in favor of an almost all covers two set performance.

The first set opened with the live debut of “Tales From Thunder Teeth” followed by a cover of “Shake, Rattle And Roll.” The first set also featured frontman Chris Robinson leading the group through arrangements of Allen Toussaint’s “Get Out My Life, Woman,” Leon Russell’s “Stranger In A Strange Land” and The Rolling Stones’ “Let It Bleed.” A performance of Otis Redding’s “Hard To Handle,” an early hit for Robinson and The Black Crowes, closed the first set.

A bluesy set two began with “I’m A Hog For You” and Willie Dixon’s “The Seventh Son.” A debut cover of Little Walter’s “Mellow Down Easy” led into the New Year’s countdown and a first time take on The Doors’ “Break On Through (to the Other Side).” Slim Harpo’s “The Music’s Hot” and “Got Love It You Want” surrounded a rendition of The Velvet Underground’s “Rock & Roll” to round out set two. “Rabbit Fighter” by T. Rex and “After Midnight” by J.J. Cale were selected for the final two covers offered as the evening’s encore.

Watch audience-shot highlights from December 31 captured by nowiknowuryder below:

[Mellow Down Easy > New Year’s Countdown > Break On Through (To The Other Side)]

[Get Out My Life, Woman]

[Hard To Handle]


Chris Robinson Brotherhood at Terrapin Crossroads

Set 1
  • Tales of Thunder Teeth Jam  
  • Shake, Rattle and Roll  
  • Boppin' the Blues  
  • Get Out of My Life, Woman  
  • Stranger in a Strange Land  
  • Let It Bleed  
  • Driving Wheel  
  • Hello L.A., Bye Bye Birmingham  
  • Saturday Night in Oak Grove, Louisiana  
  • Hard to Handle  
Set 2
  • I'm a Hog for You  
  • The Seventh Son  
  • Girl I Love You  
  • Lazy Days  
  • Mellow Down Easy  
  • Break On Through (to the Other Side)  
  • Down Home Girl  
  • I Want To (Do Everything for You)  
  • The Music's Hot  
  • Rock & Roll  
  • Got Love If You Want It  
  • Rabbit Fighter  
  • After Midnight  

Loading band summary

JamBase Collections