Cat Power Announces New ‘Covers’ Album & Performs Frank Ocean’s ‘Bad Religion’ On ‘Corden’

Also hear Cat Power covering The Pogues.

By Nate Todd Oct 7, 2021 11:42 am PDT

Cat Power (Chan Marshall) announced a new Covers album set to arrive via Domino on January 14, 2022. To preview Covers, Cat Power performed Frank Ocean’s “Bad Religion” on The Late Late Show With James Corden and also shared “A Pair Of Brown Eyes” by The Pogues.

Covers is Cat Power’s first album since her critically acclaimed 2018 LP, Wanderer, and completes a trifecta of cover albums beginning with The Covers Record in 2000 followed by Jukebox in 2008. Marshall produced Covers herself, which, along with the aforementioned entries from Frank Ocean and The Pogues, also features tunes from Bob Seger, Lana Del Rey, Jackson Browne, Iggy Pop, Nick Cave, The Replacements and more.

Additionally, the record sees Cat Power reimagining one of her own songs, “Hate,” off 2006’s The Greatest, retitled “Unhate.” Covers closes out with Chan on the Billie Holiday-associated standard, “I’ll Be Seeing You,” a tribute to recent losses within Marshall’s creative inner circle including Sun (2012) collaborator Phillippe Zdar who sadly died in 2019.

“When people who you love have been taken from you, there’s always a song that holds their memory in your mind,” Marshall said in a press release. “It’s a conversation with those on the other side, and it’s really important for me to reach out to people that way.”

Chan also detailed her connection with album opener, “Bad Religion.” Cat Power’s cover of the Frank Ocean cut, off his 2012 debut Channel Orange, grew out of performing her own song, Wanderer’s “In Your Face,” on tour.

“That song [“In Your Face”] was bringing me down,” Marshall revealed. “So I started pulling out lyrics from ‘Bad Religion’ and singing those instead of getting super depressed. Performing covers is a very enjoyable way to do something that feels natural to me when it comes to making music.”

Watch Cat Power on Frank Ocean’s “Bad Religion” and also hear her version of The Pogues’ “A Pair Of Brown Eyes” below:

Bad Religion

A Pair Of Brown Eyes

Covers Tracklist:

  1. Bad Religion – Frank Ocean
  2. Unhate – Cat Power – Chan Marshall
  3. Pa Pa Power – Dead Man’s Bones
  4. A Pair of Brown Eyes – The Pogues
  5. Against the Wind – Bob Seger
  6. Endless Sea – Iggy Pop
  7. These Days – Jackson Browne
  8. It Wasn’t God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels – Kitty Wells
  9. I Had a Dream Joe – Nick Cave
  10. Here Comes a Regular – The Replacements
  11. I’ll Be Seeing You – Billie Holiday
JamBase Collections