Cass McCombs Announces New Album ‘Heartmind’ & Shares Single

The singer-songwriter also confirmed tour dates in support of the pending LP.

By Scott Bernstein Jun 8, 2022 7:48 am PDT

Cass McCombs detailed Heartmind, a new studio album due out digitally via ANTI- on August 19 with vinyl to follow in September. McCombs, who announced an extensive tour in support of the LP, previewed Heartmind with new single, “Unproud Warrior,” featuring Wynonna Judd and Charlie Burnham.

The eight-track follow-up to 2019’s Tip Of The Sphere was recorded with co-producers Shahzad Ismaily, Buddy Ross and Ariel Rechtshaid during multiple sessions that took place in both Brooklyn and Burbank, California. McCombs tapped longtime collaborator Rob Schnapf to “mix and merge it all.” Wynonna Judd sang harmony vocals on the LP with her husband, Cactus Moser, adding lap steel. Joe Russo, Kassa Overall, Danielle Haim, The Chapin Sisters, Frank LoCrasto and Nestor Gomez are among other contributors. Cass previously shared Heartmind track “Belong To Heaven.”

Heartmind is an eight-song album that feels like a journey among assorted tuneful feelings, somehow shaped to meet whatever it is a particular listener needs, to mirror whatever they bring to these uniformly incandescent and tragicomic tracks,” noted press materials announcing the album. “I made this album as a way to handle the loss of some close friends,” explained McCombs. “Their memories guided me throughout and hopefully they live through the music. Strange to realize, it wasn’t them who were lost, it was me.”

Cass returns to the road later this month for a previously announced California swing. The singer-songwriter launches the North American leg of his 2022 tour in Cleveland on September 7. Additional North American tour dates follow in Ferndale (Michigan), Chicago, Indianapolis, Pittsburgh, Toronto, Boston, Ardmore (Pennsylvania), New York City and Washington D.C. McCombs then heads to Europe in October. Find the full list of Cass McCombs tour dates by clicking the link below.

Watch the video for Cass’ new single, “Unproud Warrior,” here:

Loading band summary

Heartmind Tracklist

  1. Music Is Blue
  2. Karaoke
  3. New Earth
  4. Unproud Warrior
  5. Krakatau
  6. A Blue, Blue Band
  7. Belong to Heaven
  8. Heartmind
JamBase Collections