Calexico Announces New Album ‘El Mirador’ & Shares Title Track

Watch the animated video for the title track from the band’s 10th studio album.

By Scott Bernstein Feb 1, 2022 7:16 am PST

Influential Tex-Mex band Calexico will release El Mirador, their 10th studio album, via ANTI- Records on April 8. Today, Calexico unveiled the title track with an animated video for the song which opens the LP.

Co-founders Joey Burns and John Convertino assembled last summer with longtime bandmate Sergio Mendoza at the latter’s home studio in Tucson to record the follow-up to their 2020 holiday album, Seasonal Shift. The forthcoming LP is described in a press materials as, “an evocative love letter to the desert borderlands that nourished [Calexico] for over 20 years.”


El Mirador is dedicated to family, friends and community,” noted Joey Burns. “The pandemic highlighted all the ways we need each other, and music happens to be my way of building bridges and encouraging inclusiveness and positivity. That comes along with sadness and melancholy, but music sparks change and movement.”

Joey Burns and John Convertino wrote and recorded El Mirador with Sergio Mendoza, who played keyboards, accordion and percussion. “I’ve been playing with Calexico for about 15 years, and I admire Joey and John’s constant search for new sounds,” explained Mendoza. “After so many albums,” Sergio added, “I’m really proud we were able to achieve something so fresh together.”

Guatemalan singer-songwriter Gaby Moreno and Spanish rocker Jairo Zavala also contributed to El Mirador. Watch the video for the title track animated by director Elefanto and MERO ESTUDIO below:

El Mirador Tracklist

  1. El Mirador
  2. Harness The Wind
  3. Cumbia Peninsula
  4. Then You Might See
  5. Cumbia del Polvo
  6. El Paso
  7. The El Burro Song
  8. Liberada
  9. Turquoise
  10. Constellation
  11. Rancho Azul
  12. Caldera

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections