Built To Spill Announces New Album ‘When The Wind Forgets Your Name’ & Shares Single

Watch the animated music video for lead single “Gonna Lose.”

By Nate Todd Apr 12, 2022 12:55 pm PDT

Built to Spill will issue a new album, When The Wind Forgets Your Name, via Sub Pop on September 9. The Boise, Idaho-based band led by guitarist and singer-songwriter Doug Martsch also released the lead single, “Gonna Lose.”

When The Wind Forgets Your Name marks Built To Spill’s first studio album of original music in seven years following 2015’s Untethered Moon as well as a 2020 Daniel Johnston tribute album. The new LP is also Built to Spill’s debut on storied Seattle label Sub Pop.

​​“I’m psyched,” Doug said on the signing. “I’ve wanted to be on Sub Pop since I was a teenager. And I think I’m the first fifty year-old they’ve ever signed.”

Martsch produced When The Wind Forgets Your Name and shared mixing duties with Lê Almeida, João Casaes and Josh Lewis with mastering by Mell Dettmer. Brazilian artists Lê Almeida and João Casaes — both in the psychedelic jazz rock band Oruã — also perform on the album and are among the many additions in Doug’s revolving door of BTS collaborators. A fan of Oruã’s music, Martsch asked Almeida and Casaes to join him for some shows in Brazil in 2018.

“We rehearsed at their studio in downtown Rio de Janeiro and I loved everything about it,” Doug recalled. “They had old crappy gear. The walls were covered with xeroxed fliers. They smoked tons of weed.”

The collab continued when Almeida and Casaes came to tour with Martsch in the U.S. and Europe in 2019, after which they tracked the drums and bass for When The Wind Forgets Your Name. Doug rounded out the LP with guitar and vocal overdubs later.

“Making When the Wind Forgets Your Name was such a great experience,” Martsch added. “I had an incredible time traveling and recording with Almeida and Casaes. I also learned so much about Brazilian culture and music while creating it. My Portuguese was terrible when I first met Almeida and Casaes, but by the end of the year it was even worse.”

The first taste of the album, “Gonna Lose,” arrived with an accompanying music video directed by Jordan Minkoff and featuring animations from Minkoff and Lee McClure. Watch it below:

Built To Spill has an extensive 2022 tour itinerary on the books which begins tomorrow (April 13) in Chicago tomorrow and wraps up in Salt Lake City on September 24. Check out their tour dates:

Loading tour dates

When The Wind Forgets Your Name Tracklist:

  1. Gonna Lose
  2. Fool’s Gold
  3. Understood
  4. Elements
  5. Rock Steady
  6. Spiderweb
  7. Never Alright
  8. Alright
  9. Comes a Day
JamBase Collections