The Brothers Comatose Share ‘Sugar Please’ Single Featuring Nicki Bluhm

By Scott Bernstein May 31, 2018 8:01 am PDT

Bay Area Americana act The Brothers Comatose will release a new studio album produced by John Vanderslice entitled Ink, Dust & Luck on June 15. The five-piece shared video for the lead single “Sugar Please” featuring special guest Nicki Bluhm.

Ink, Dust & Luck marks the first time The Brothers Comatose have worked with an outside producer and recorded direct to two-inch analog tape. “Ink, Dust & Luck is a snapshot of a band that’s truly found their collaborative voice,” lead singer/guitarist Ben Morrison said of the 10-track effort in a statement. “For the first time, every single band member contributed songs to the album. We took the old school approach of no overdubs, just straight to tape and I think this raw energy really shines through. Vanderslice is a madman in the studio, we couldn’t have done this recording without his genius intuition supporting us all the way through.”

“Sugar Please” features a duet between Ben Morrison and Nicki Bluhm. “I love singin’ with that tall can of PBR so when Ben asked me to join him for a duet, I could think of no greater pleasure,” Nicki told The Bluegrass Situation. “Ben and The Brothers Comatose sure can write those sweet love songs from the perspective of the road. I have an appreciation for that livin’ out here myself.”

Watch the video for “Sugar Please,” which premiered via The Bluegrass Situation:

The Brothers Comatose will headline The Fillmore in San Francisco tomorrow night.

Ink, Dust & Luck Tracklist

  1. Don’t Make Me Get Up and Go
  2. Already Ready
  3. Sugar Please
  4. As The Crow Flies
  5. Cedarwood Pines
  6. These Ways
  7. Love By Degrees
  8. Grandpappy
  9. Get Me Home
  10. Joshua Tree
JamBase Collections