BoomBox Announces New Album ‘Western Voodoo’ & Shares Single


Jamtronica act BoomBox will issue a new album entitled Western Voodoo on October 19. The band recently shared the Western Voodoo track “Selling Fun.”

Western Voodoo may be the most musically diverse album the band has ever released,” frontman Zion Rock Godchaux explained in a press release. Godchaux dubbed the style found on the forthcoming record as “Dirty Disco Blues.”

Zion spent the majority of the past year working on the album. “I’ve learned more about engineering and the technical aspects of recording. [This last year has] been a time of soul searching. I can follow any ideas that I want to. So there’s a lot more organic instrumentation,” the producer added.

While BoomBox was open to exploring new sounds on their fifth studio album, Godchaux still wanted to honor the band’s origins. “There are only a few rules. It should be heavy groove. It should make you want to move,” Zion said. BoomBox will soon announce a 40-city, early-2019 tour in support of the new album.

Listen to the Western Voodoo single “Selling Fun” below:

Western Voodoo Tracklist

  1. Castles
  2. I Trouble
  3. Looking For A Sign
  4. Let Me In Let Me Out
  5. Selling Fun*
  6. Restless Too
  7. Light Of Mind
  8. Easy Operator
  9. Up Till Now
  10. Rikki Tikki Two Time

Tour Dates for