Blackberry Smoke Details New Album ‘You Hear Georgia’ Featuring Warren Haynes & Jamey Johnson


Southern rockers Blackberry Smoke honor their home state on You Hear Georgia, a new album set for release through Thirty Tigers on May 28. The 10-track LP, which the band previewed by sharing its title track and an accompanying video, features guest appearances from Warren Haynes, Jamey Johnson and The Black Bettys.

Blackberry Smoke, who celebrate two decades as a band this year, recorded the follow-up to 2018’s Find A Light at the historic RCA Studio A in Nashville with producer and fellow Georgia native Dave Cobb. The sessions spanned a mere 10 days and saw the group focus on new songs that “FEEL like Georgia” according to a statement.

The group recruited Haynes to contribute on “All Rise Again” and Johnson to add to “Lonesome For A Livin’.” Longtime collaborators The Black Bettys provide backing vocals.

Frontman Charlie Starr shared the following regarding title track “You Hear Georgia”:

“Lyrically, the song is about the South being misunderstood. It’s obviously a rough and tumble world, and there’s a lot of bad people. But there’s a lot of good people too. It started with the idea of how people might have a preconceived opinion of you because of a thick Southern accent, then expanded into the reality of how some people just seem to have such a hard time getting along, thanks to political or religious views, or simply what part of the country you come from.”

Watch the “You Hear Georgia” video below:

You Hear Georgia Tracklist

  1. Live It Down
  2. You Hear Georgia
  3. Hey Delilah
  4. Ain’t The Same
  5. Lonesome For A Livin’ (feat. Jamey Johnson)
  6. All Rise Again (feat. Warren Haynes)
  7. Old Enough To Know
  8. Morningside
  9. All Over The Road
  10. Old Scarecrow

Support JamBase
Like Us on Facebook