Billy Strings Performs Complete ‘Home’ Album Live In Nashville

By Nate Todd Jul 26, 2020 9:50 am PDT

Billy Strings wrapped up his two-night run at Nashville’s Exit/In on Saturday as part of his Streaming Strings tour. After performing his debut album Turmoil & Tinfoil on Friday, Billy delivered his latest record, 2019’s Home, for the Exit/In finale.

Billy was once again joined by fiddler John Mailander and the quintet kicked off the show with Frank Wakefield’s “End Of The Rainbow” which saw Mailander, banjoist Billy Failing and mandolin player Jarrod Walker all adding nice touches over bassist Royal Masat’s low end foundation. Next, Billy took a ride with some clean acoustic before kicking it up a notch by adding a little overdrive. The band then brought it down for a low-key blissful jam that built up into “Thirst Mutilator” from Billy’s 2016 self-titled debut EP. The fiddle tune saw the band throwing the solos around once again before heading into “Dust In A Baggie,” also off Billy Strings. “So Many Miles” came next before Billy reeled off a slew of covers including YMSB’s “Sorrow Is A Highway,” Little Feat’s “Willin’” and a pair of David Grisman tunes — “Sugar Hill Ramble” and “Unwanted Love” — to bring the first frame to a close.


For the second set Strings delivered Home in its entirety. The performance marked the second time Strings has played a complete Home following a full album look in Portland, Oregon on September 27, 2019 when the LP arrived. A little less than a year since the album came out, a number of the songs are already live staples like the album’s opener “Taking Water” as well as “Watch It Fall,” “Hollow Heart” and “Away From The Mire.” But the full LP gave listeners a chance to hear songs that aren’t in heavy rotation like the experimental “Guitar Peace” (played for just the fourth time as per Phantasy Tour) and the album’s closer, “Freedom.”

Billy’s Streaming Strings tour wraps up tonight at 3rd & Lindsley.

Watch video of “End Of The Rainbow” and “Thirst Mutilator” below:



Billy Strings
  • End of the Rainbow
  • Thirst Mutilator
  • Dust in a Baggie
  • So Many Miles
  • Sorrow Is a Highway
  • Willin'
  • Sugar Hill Ramble
  • Unwanted Love
  • Taking Water
  • Must Be Seven
  • Running
  • Away From the Mire
  • Home
  • Watch It Fall
  • Long Forgotten Dream
  • Highway Hypnosis
  • Enough to Leave
  • Hollow Heart
  • Love Like Me
  • Everything's the Same
  • Guitar Peace
  • Freedom
Setlist data
JamBase Live Video Archive
JamBase Live Video Archive
JamBase Collections