[UPDATED] The Avett Brothers Honor The Cranberries’ Dolores O’Riordan In Louisville

The Avett Brothers began a three-night stand at the Louisville Palace Theatre in Louisville, Kentucky on Thursday evening. The first show of the run began with the band paying tribute to Dolores O’Riordan, The Cranberries vocalist who passed away this week at the age of 46.

The Avett Brothers selected a cover of The Cranberries’ “Dreaming My Dreams” to open last night’s concert. Previously the group has incorporated an interlude of “Dreaming My Dreams” while performing “Pretty Girl from Annapolis.” The evening also saw the band welcoming Seth Avett and Scott Avett’s sister Bonnie Avett Rini to the stage for a familial sit-in. Their main set closed with Tania Elizabeth leading a cover of Bob Dylan’s “I Shall Be Released.”

The Avett Brothers will perform at the Louisville Palace Theatre again tonight as well as on Saturday evening. Watch audience-shot video footage from Thursday’s concert below:

[If It’s the Beaches | Captured Vincent Lusco]

[True Sadness | Captured by Blane Thompson]

[I Shall Be Released | Captured by paulgermain]

[Vanity | Captured by paulgermain]


The Avett Brothers at Louisville Palace Theatre

  • Dreaming My Dreams  
  • Satan Pulls the Strings
  • Down With the Shine
  • Distraction #74
  • I Never Will Marry  
  • Ain't No Man
  • You Are Mine
  • Paranoia in B-Flat Major
  • Bella Donna
  • When I Drink
  • Black Mountain Rag  
  • Live and Die
  • Skin and Bones
  • Victims of Life
  • Go to Sleep
  • Part From Me
  • The Prettiest Thing  
  • If It's the Beaches
  • February Seven
  • Vanity
  • Geraldine
  • True Sadness
  • I Shall Be Released  
  • Fisher Road to Hollywood
  • May It Last
  • Head Full of Doubt/Road Full of Promise