Andrew McConathy & The Drunken Hearts Release New Live Album ‘Alive ‘N Free’: Exclusive Premiere

By Scott Bernstein Jan 13, 2021 11:02 am PST

This Friday, Drunken Hearts will release a new live album, Alive ‘N Free, containing 14 tracks recorded during the band’s Fall 2019 tour. JamBase is pleased to premiere the LP a few days before it officially arrives.

Andrew McConathy & The Drunken Hearts features McConathy on acoustic guitar and vocals, Alex Johnson on drums, Jon McCartan on bass, multi-instrumentalist Cody Russell and guitarist Kory Montgomery. The group’s 20-show, cross-country Fall 2019 tour came in support of their latest album, Wheels Of The City and mostly consisted of dates opening for Yonder Mountain String Band.

Alive ‘N Free mixes performances of older McConathy-penned songs like “Don’t Go” and “Happy” with material from the Tim Carbone-produced Wheels Of The City such as the LP’s title track, “Shining Eyes,” “Unrest” and “Fire In The House.” The live album also includes the band’s cover of Robin Davis’ “Prom Night” and previously unreleased song “Tell Me.”

The live album was produced by Andrew McConathy and Todd Divel based on recordings captured by the band’s sound engineer, Taylor Hines. “We multi-track recorded almost every show from Fall Tour of 2019. When the pandemic hit (and I found myself with a significant amount of time on my hands), I started digging into about 17 shows worth of live recordings,” McConathy told JamBase. “I was essentially listening for what I thought were stand-out moments and solid renditions of newer songs, but also a couple of older tunes, while aiming to craft a unique setlist with an energetic flow from start to finish.”

JamBase asked Andrew McConathy if there was one show in particular from the run that stood out. “The version of ‘Prom Night’ is from Brooklyn Bowl in New York which is always amazing to play, and a chunk of the album is from Ardmore Music Hall in Pennsylvania,” the Colorado-based musician explained. “Levon Helm’s Barn in Woodstock was also pretty incredible. In addition to just basically being at Levon’s house (let alone performing there), we also got to play the organ from ‘Chest Fever’ and visit Big Pink — moments I will cherish forever.”

“Prom Night” by fellow Coloradan Robin Davis was a good fit for the band. “Robin is a phenomenal guitar player and songwriter, and we share a similar vocal range,” McConathy said of covering the tune. “I particularly love the story in the song, and the lyrics are both dark and playful at the same time. I thought it seemed like a proper tune that we might be able to really rock out.”

Andrew McConathy is hard at work writing songs and recording demos for the band’s next album. “I have 10 – 12 new songs that I am still getting comfortable with, but definitely starting to envision what all of the pieces might sound like once we are all able to be together again,” McConathy noted.

Alive ‘N Free hits digital services on Friday and can be pre-saved here. Stream the full live album below:

Alive ‘N Free Tracklist

  1. Tell Me
  2. Don’t Go
  3. Van Story
  4. Happy
  5. Fire in a House
  6. Unrest
  7. Run It All Together
  8. In the Middle
  9. Shining Eyes
  10. Wheels of the City
  11. Black Snake
  12. Want You Back
  13. Prom Night
  14. Broken Things
JamBase Collections