Anderson East Performs ‘Madelyn’ On ‘Late Night’ & Announces New Album ‘Maybe We Never Die’


Anderson East performed “Madelyn” on Late Night With Seth Meyers on Wednesday. The song is the first taste from the Nashville-based singer-songwriter’s upcoming album, Maybe We Never Die, due out on August 20 via Elektra/Low Country Sound.

East re-enlisted the help of renowned Grammy-winning producer Dave Cobb to co-produce Maybe We Never Die, who also helmed the genre-blending soul singer’s previous LP, 2018’s Encore. Additionally, Anderson also tapped longtime bandleader Philip Towns to help with production duties.

“The 12 tracks flow together with an overarching sense of urgency but maintain distinct musical boundaries,” a press release described the new LP. “The energy toggles between a hunger for vulnerability in togetherness and a clinging to solitude as a romantic self-defense. There is consternation with the speed and volume at which the world operates and solace to be found in the simple act of getting up and going.”

East also detailed the new record. Read his words below:

I wanted to create something unique with this record. A piece of music, that as a whole, knew where its footing was but yet still attempted to see what was behind the curtains. I’m very proud of what it took to make and its ultimate outcome. I am very grateful to the wonderfully talented humans that lent their gifts to make it what it is.

Watch Anderson East perform Maybe We Never Die’s “Madelyn” on Seth Meyers below:

Maybe We Never Die Tracklist:

  1. Maybe We Never Die
  2. Lights On
  3. Madelyn
  4. Drugs
  5. I Hate You
  6. Hood Of My Car
  7. Falling
  8. Jet Black Pontiac
  9. Like Nothing Ever Happened
  10. If You Really Love Me
  11. Just You & I
  12. Interstellar Outer Space

Support JamBase
Like Us on Facebook