Americana Awards 2022 Winners: Brandi Carlile, Allison Russell, Billy Strings & More

The War And Treaty, Sierra Ferrell and Larissa Maestro also took home awards.

By Scott Bernstein Sep 15, 2022 7:00 am PDT

Brandi Carlile, Allison Russell and Billy Strings were among those who won last night at this year’s Americana Honors & Awards ceremony. The 21st annual event took place on Wednesday at the historic Ryman Auditorium in Nashville.

Russell scored the Album Of The Year trophy for her debut solo album, 2021’s Outside Child, while Strings took home the Artist Of The Year award. Carlile won in the Song Of The Year category for “Right On Time.” The song co-wrritten with Dave Cobb, Phil Hanseroth and Tim Hanseroth appeared on Brandi’s 2021 release, In These Silent Days.

The War And Treaty was named Duo/Group Of The Year and the Instrumentalist Of The Year award went to Larissa Maestro. Additionally, Sierra Ferrell scored the Emerging Act Of The Year trophy.

Indigo Girls were honored with the Spirit of Americana Award with Fairfield Four presented the Legacy Of Americana Award in partnership with the National Museum of African American Music. Other previously announced recipients of Lifetime Achievement Awards were the late Don Williams (President’s Award), Chris Isaak (Performance) and Al Bell (Executive).

Brandi Carlile, Allison Russell, The War And Treaty and Neal Francis were among those who performed at the 2022 Americana Honors & Awards Ceremony. The War And Treaty delivered “That’s How Love Is Made.” Later Russell and Carlile sang “You’re Not Alone,” while Brandi also teamed with Lucius for “You And Me On The Rock” and joined Indigo Girls on “Galileo.” Artists generally led an all-star house band that included Larry Campbell, Don Was, Larry Campbell, Buddy Miller, The McCrary Sisters and others. The evening concluded with many of the performers collaborating on The Staple Singers’ “I’ll Take You There.”

Watch the full ceremony and check out a list of winners below:

Americana Awards Winners 2022 List

Album Of The Year: Outside Child, Allison Russell, Produced by Dan Knobler

Artist Of The Year: Billy Strings

Song Of The Year: “Right On Time,” Brandi Carlile, written by Brandi Carlile, Dave Cobb, Phil Hanseroth and Tim Hanseroth

Duo/Group Of The Year: The War And Treaty

Emerging Act Of The Year: Sierra Ferrell

Instrumentalist Of The Year: Larissa Maestro

Spirit of Americana Award: Indigo Girls

Legacy of Americana Award: Fairfield Four

President’s Award: Don Williams

Lifetime Achievement Award for Performance: Chris Isaak

Lifetime Achievement Award for Executive: Al Bell

JamBase Collections