The Allman Brothers Band ‘50th Anniversary Collection’ Includes Previously Unreleased Tracks


The 45-year career of legendary rock band The Allman Brothers Band is celebrated in the forthcoming 10-LP/5-CD/Digital box set Trouble No More: 50th Anniversary Collection. Due out via Island Mercury/UMe on February 28, the box set contains 61 tracks and features songs representing all 13 lineups including a handful of previously unreleased tracks.

Trouble No More: 50th Anniversary Collection is produced by ABB historians/archivists Bill Levenson, John Lynskey and Kirk West. Included are studio tracks, live performances and rarities spanning the band’s entire 45-year career. The box set is arranged chronologically and thematically with a previously unreleased demo of “Trouble No More” from 1969 opening the collection and the band’s “Trouble No More” encore from their final concert in 2014 closing out the compilation.


Here are more details on the physical versions of the box set:

The deluxe vinyl box set of Trouble No More: 50th Anniversary Collection beautifully presents the Allman Brothers Band’s legacy across 10 LPs packaged in five gatefold jackets housed in a wood veneer wrapped slipcase with gold graphics, accompanied by a 56-page book. The vinyl set will also be released as a limited edition color vinyl collection via the online music retailer uDiscover with each LP pressed on orange and red splatter colored vinyl evoking the insides of a peach. The 5CD edition will be packaged in a 12-panel softpack with a visually distinctive slipcase and includes an 88-page booklet. Both physical editions feature an insightful nearly 9000 word essay on the 50-year history of the band by John Lynskey, unreleased band photos along with newly shot photos of memorabilia from the Big House Museum in the band’s adopted hometown Macon, GA and a recap of the 13 incarnations of the band lineup. The digital version of the album will mirror the 5CD edition and be available for streaming and download, including Apple Digital Master. All recordings have been newly mastered by Jason NeSmith at Chase Park Transduction in Athens, Ga. and sound better than ever.

Trouble No More starts with The Capricorn Years 1969 – 1979 Part I taking listeners through 1971 and continues with The Capricorn Years 1969 – 1979, Part II covering 1972 and including a previously unreleased outtake of “Early Morning Blues.” The Capricorn Years, 1969-1979, Part III/The Arista Years, 1980-1981 begins with tracks from the famed Summer Jam at Watkins Glen in 1973 and runs through a hiatus that started in 1981. The Butch Trucks, Gregg Allman, Dickey Betts, Jaimoe, Warren Haynes, Allen Woody and Marc Quinones lineup is featured in The Epic Years, 1989-2000, which culminates with tracks including bassist Oteil Burbridge and guitarists Jack Pearson and Derek Trucks. Finally, The Peach Years, 2000-2014 contains a bevy of previously unreleased material and focuses on the long-running final lineup of Haynes, Derek Trucks, Butch Trucks, Gregg Allman, Jaimoe, Burbridge and Quinones.

Listen to the previously unreleased “Trouble No More” demo from the box set below:


Here’s an unboxing video:

Trouble No More: 50th Anniversary Collection Tracklist (5CD/Digital)

The Capricorn Years 1969 – 1979 Part I / CD1

  1. Trouble No More (Demo)*
  2. Don’t Want You No More
  3. It’ Not My Cross To Bear
  4. Dreams
  5. Whipping Post
  6. I’m Gonna Move To The Outskirts Of Town (Live at Ludlow Garage)
  7. Midnight Rider
  8. Revival
  9. Don’t Keep Me Wonderin’
  10. Hoochie Coochie Man
  11. Please Call Home
  12. Statesboro Blues (Live at Fillmore East)
  13. Stormy Monday (Live at Fillmore East)
  14. In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed (Live at Fillmore East)

The Capricorn Years 1969 – 1979 Part II / CD2

  1. One Way Out (Live at Fillmore East)
  2. You Don’t Love Me / Soul Serenade (Live at A&R Studios)
  3. Hot ‘Lanta (Live at A&R Studios)
  4. Stand Back
  5. Melissa
  6. Blue Sky
  7. Ain’t Wastin’ Time No More (Live at Mar y Sol)
  8. Wasted Words
  9. Ramblin’ Man
  10. Southbound
  11. Jessica
  12. Early Morning Blues (Outtake)*

The Capricorn Years 1969 – 1979 Part III / The Arista Years 1980 – 1981 / CD3

  1. Come And Go Blues (Live at Watkins Glen)
  2. Mountain Jam (Live at Watkins Glen)*
  3. Can’t Lose What You Never Had
  4. Win, Lose Or Draw
  5. High Falls
  6. Crazy Love
  7. Can’t Take It With You
  8. Pegasus
  9. Just Ain’t Easy (Live at Merriweather Post Pavilion)
  10. Hell & High Water
  11. Angeline
  12. Leavin’
  13. Never Knew How Much (I Needed You)

The Epic Years 1990 – 2000 / CD4

  1. Good Clean Fun
  2. Seven Turns
  3. Gambler’s Roll
  4. End Of The Line
  5. Nobody Knows
  6. Low Down Dirty Mean (Live at the Beacon Theatre)
  7. Come On Into My Kitchen (Live at Radio & Records Convention)
  8. Sailin’ ‘Cross The Devil’s Sea
  9. Back Where It All Begins
  10. Soulshine
  11. No One To Run With
  12. I’m Not Crying (Live at the Beacon Theatre)*

The Peach Years 2000 – 2014 / CD5

  1. Loan Me A Dime (Live at World Music Theatre)*
  2. Desdemona (Live at the Beacon Theatre)*
  3. High Cost Of Low Living
  4. Old Before My Time
  5. Blue Sky (Live at the Beacon Theatre)*
  6. Little Martha (Live at the Beacon Theatre)*
  7. Black Hearted Woman (Live at the Beacon Theatre)
  8. The Sky Is Crying (Live at the Beacon Theatre)
  9. “Farewell” speeches (Live at the Beacon Theatre)
  10. Trouble No More (Live at the Beacon Theatre)

* Previously unreleased