Hear Alabama Shakes’ Ferocious ‘Always Alright’ From ‘Boys & Girls’ 10th Anniversary Reissue

Listen to the Shakes deliver their Grammy-nominated song a decade back for KCRW's 'Morning Becomes Eclectic.'

By Nate Todd Oct 26, 2022 11:33 am PDT

ATO Records is set to reissue Alabama Shakes’ 2012 debut album Boys & Girls on December 9 (pre-order) to celebrate the record’s 10th anniversary. Previewing the collection is an explosive live performance of the non-album song, “Always Alright” from the Shakes’ appearance on Los Angeles public radio station KCRW’s renowned Morning Becomes Eclectic program which aired during the album rollout.

The 10th anniversary edition of the platinum album Boys & Girls contains the original 11-track LP plus another 11 live tracks from the aforementioned KCRW performance. Alabama Shakes — singer/guitarist Brittany Howard, guitarist Heath Fogg, bassist Zac Cockrell and drummer Steve Johnson — performed songs from Boys & Girls for Morning Becomes Eclectic including the Grammy-nominated track, “Hold On,” and more.

Preview cut, “Always Alright,” which appeared on the soundtrack to the film Silver Linings Playbook, also garnered the band a Grammy nomination. Hear Alabama Shakes perform the song for KCRW below:

Loading tour dates

Boys & Girls 10th Anniversary Edition Tracklist:

  1. Hold On
  2. I Found You
  3. Hang Loose
  4. Rise To The Sun
  5. You Ain’t Alone
  6. Goin’ To The Party
  7. Heartbreaker
  8. Boys & Girls
  9. Be Mine
  10. I Ain’t The Same
  11. On Your Way
  12. Hang Loose (Live At KCRW)
  13. I Found You (Live At KCRW)
  14. Be Mine (Live At KCRW)
  15. I Ain’t The Same (Live At KCRW)
  16. Mama (Live At KCRW)
  17. Goin’ To The Party (Live At KCRW)
  18. Hold On (Live At KCRW)
  19. Boys & Girls (Live At KCRW)
  20. Always Alright (Live At KCRW)
  21. Rise To The Sun (Live At KCRW)
  22. Heavy Chevy (Live At KCRW)
JamBase Collections