5 Frank Zappa Albums To Be Reissued On Vinyl


The Zappa Family Trust and UMe have announced the upcoming re-release of five Frank Zappa albums on vinyl. Each of the LPs will be reissued on 180-gram vinyl on December 9.

The five records given the reissue treatment are 1967’s Lumpy Gravy, 1968’s We’re Only In It For The Money with The Mothers Of Invention and Cruising With Ruben & The Jets, 1970’s Weasels Ripped My Flesh (also with The Mothers Of Invention) and 1979’s Joe’s Garage. The reissue of Zappa’s first solo LP, Lumpy Gravy was pressed from a 1968 analog safety tape found in the ZFT vault. The 3-LP reissue of Joe’s Garage is an all-analog remastered version by Bernie Grundman using the 1979 quarter-inch safety master tapes from the vault.

Head here for complete details on the reissues and to pre-orders the LPs.

Lumpy Gravy Tracklist

  1. Part One
  2. Part Two

We’re Only In It For The Money Tracklist

  1. Are You Hung Up?
  2. Who Needs The Peace Corps?
  3. Concentration Moon
  4. Mom & Dad
  5. Telephone Conversation
  6. Bow Tie Daddy
  7. Harry, You’re A Beast
  8. What’s The Ugliest Part Of Your Body?
  9. Absolutely Free
  10. Flower Punk
  11. Hot Poop
  12. Nasal Retentive Calliope Music
  13. Let’s Make The Water Turn Black
  14. The Idiot Bastard Son
  15. Lonely Little Girl
  16. Take Your Clothes Off When You Dance
  17. What’s The Ugliest Part Of Your Body?
  18. Mother People
  19. The Chrome Plated Megaphone Of Destiny

Cruising With Ruben & The Jets Tracklist

  1. Cheap Thrills
  2. Love Of My Life
  3. How Could I Be Such A Fool
  4. Deseri
  5. I’m Not Satisfied
  6. Jelly Roll Gum Drop
  7. Anything
  8. Later That Night
  9. You Didn’t Try To Call Me
  10. Fountain Of Love
  11. No. No. No.
  12. Anyway The Wind Blows
  13. Stuff Up The Cracks

Weasels Ripped My Flesh Tracklist

  1. Didja Get Any Onya?
  2. Directly From My Heart To You
  3. Prelude To The Afternoon Of A Sexually Aroused Gas Mask
  4. Toads Of The Short Forest
  5. Get A Little
  6. The Eric Dolphy Memorial Barbecue
  7. Dwarf Nebula Processional March & Dwarf Nebula
  8. My Guitar Wants To Kill Your Mama
  9. Oh No
  10. The Orange County Lumber Truck
  11. Weasles Ripped My Flesh

Joe’s Garage Tracklist

  1. The Central Scrutinizer
  2. Joe’s Garage
  3. Catholic Girls
  4. Crew Slut
  5. Wet T-Shirt Nite
  6. Toad-O Line
  7. Why Does It Hurt When I Pee?
  8. Lucille Has Messed My Mind Up
  9. A Token Of My Extreme
  10. Stick It Out
  11. SyBorg
  12. Dong Work For Yuda
  13. Keep It Greasy
  14. Outside Now
  15. He Used To Cut The Grass
  16. Packard Goose
  17. Watermelon In Easter Hay
  18. A Little Green Rosetta