2007 Shortlist Nominees


The Long List of nominees for the Sixth Annual Shortlist Music Prize were announced this week. The well-regarded tastemaker started in 2001, and the competition honors albums that have NOT been certified Gold [i.e. sales of 500,000 or more] by the Recording Industry Association of America by the time of nomination. Cat Power picked up the 2006 award for The Greatest, becoming the first woman to win the prize.

This year’s listmakers are Ronnie Vannucci (The Killers), CMJ New Music Report editor-in-chief Rev. Moose, Gary Lightbody (Snow Patrol), KCRW DJ Chris Douridas and and Hunnypot Internet Radio. To see who nominated which titles visit the official Shortlist site.

The 2007 Long List of 54 nominees is as follows:

A Fine Frenzy – One Cell In The Sea
Against Me! – New Wave
Animal Collective – Strawberry Jam
Arcade Fire – Neon Bible
Bad Religion – New Maps Of Hell
Biffy Clyro – Puzzle
Bjork – Volta
Blonde Redhead – 23
Brakes – The Beatific Visions
Burial – Untrue
Calvin Harris – I Created Disco
Dead Heart Bloom – Chelsea Diaries
Digitalism – Idealism
Dollyrots – Because I’m Awesome
Eddie Vedder – Into The Wild’ Soundtrack
Feist – The Reminder
Fionn Regan – The End Of History
Future Of The Left – Curses
Gogol Bordello – Super Taranta
Grinderman – Grinderman
Gui Boratto – Chromaphobia
Iron & Wine – The Shepherd’s Dog
Jesca Hoop – Kismet
Josh Ritter – The Historical Conquests
Juliette & The Licks – Four On The Floor
Justice – Cross
Keren Ann – Keren Ann
Kings Of Leon – Because Of The Times
Klaxons – Myths Of The Near Future
LCD Soundsystem – Sound Of Silver
Le Loup – The Throne Of The Third Heaven
Les Savy Fav – Let’s Stay Friends
M.I.A. – Kala
Maps – We Can Create
O’Death – Head Home
Of Montreal – Hissing Fauna, Are You The Destroyer?
Parts & Labor – Mapmaker
Peter Bjorn & John – Writer’s Block
PJ Harvey – White Chalk
Puscifer – V Is For Vagina
Robert Francis – One By One
Robert Pollard – Standard Gargoyle Decisions
Scout Niblett – This Fool Can Die Now
Serj Tankian – Elect The Dead
Spoon – Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga
Stars – In Our Bedroom After The War
Swizz Beatz – One Man Band Man
The Bird & The Bee – The Bird & The Bee
The Hives – Black & White Album
The Thrills – Teenager
Underworld – Oblivion With Bells
Wheat – Everyday I Said A Prayer
Wilco – Sky Blue Sky
Working For A Nuclear Free City – Businessmen & Ghosts

The prize will be awarded in early 2008. In the meantime, we’d love to hear from those folks who’ve heard these albums and have some thoughts on their merits in our Comments Section.