Chris Robinson Brotherhood: The Magic Door


Chris Robinson Brotherhood
Just a few months after the June 5 release of their acclaimed debut Big Moon Ritual album, the Chris Robinson Brotherhood--Chris Robinson (lead vocals, guitar), Neal Casal (guitar, vocals), Adam MacDougall (keys, vocals), George Sluppick (drums) and Mark Dutton (bass, vocals)--is set to release the companion album The Magic Door September 11 via Silver Arrow/Megaforce. Both albums were recorded in two marathon sessions earlier this year at Sunset Sound in Los Angeles with producer Thom Monahan (Vetiver, Devendra Banhart, Papercuts) after the band wrapped up a 118-show 2011 tour during which the band road-tested all the material.

The Magic Door contains seven songs: six originals--"Someday Past The Sunset," "Vibration & Light Suite," "Appaloosa," "Little Lizzie Mae," "Sorrows Of A Blue Eyed Liar" and "Wheel Don't Roll"--plus a cover of Hank Ballard's "Let's Go, Let's Go, Let's Go,"” a CRB set list staple. The songs (written by Robinson, with Neal Casal on "Wheel Don't Roll" and Casal and Adam MacDougal on "Sorrows Of A Blue Eyed Liar") are all free flowing and some lengthy, with "Vibration & Light Suite" clocking in at 13:56. This is music that is in no hurry to reach its destination but firmly knows where it is going and the speed at which it is traveling.

On the album as on the road, Robinson continues to grow as a guitarist alongside guitarist Neal Casal. "I look at music as a conversation and Neal's a very eloquent speaker on guitar and I'm just trying to keep the conversation interesting."

Chris Robinson Brotherhood Tour Dates :: Chris Robinson Brotherhood News

[Published on: 7/16/12]

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!