Paul McCartney Confirms New Album Title & Tracklist


On December 19 2011 Paul McCartney announced that February 2012 would see the release of his brand new studio album. Scores of fans then streamed the new original track 'My Valentine,' many assuming it would be the new record's title track. While a few Twitter hints have been dropped and rumors have run rampant, Paul puts an end to speculation today, confirming that the album will indeed be titled Kisses On The Bottom.

Paul has apparently had some fun with his choice of album title-while causing some confusion amongst those who have historically subjected his every move to microscopic scrutiny. The phrase 'Kisses On The Bottom,' however, actually comes from the album's opener 'I'm Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter'. Originally made a big hit by Fats Waller in 1935, the song opens with the lines 'I'm gonna sit right down and write myself a letter and make believe it came from you. I'm gonna write words oh so sweet. They're gonna knock me off of my feet. A lot of kisses on the bottom, I'll be glad I got 'em'.

Kisses On The Bottom is a collection of standards Paul grew up listening to in his childhood as well as the two new McCartney compositions 'My Valentine' and 'Only Our Hearts'. With the help of Grammy Award-winning producer Tommy LiPuma and Diana Krall and her band-as well as guest appearances from Eric Clapton and Stevie Wonder, McCartney's new album is a deeply personal journey through classic American compositions that, in some cases, a young Paul first heard his father perform on piano at home.

Deluxe CD Album will feature two bonus tracks plus access to a download of the Capitol Studios show (available from Tuesday February 14 via, plus longer liner notes and expanded packaging featuring three postcards).

The album will also be available digitally.

Kisses On The Bottom - Full Tracklisting

  • Standard CD - 14 tracks
  • 01. I'm Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter
  • 02. Home (When Shadows Fall)
  • 03. It's Only A Paper Moon
  • 04. More I Cannot Wish You
  • 05. The Glory Of Love
  • 06. We Three (My Echo, My Shadow And Me)
  • 07. Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate The Positive
  • 08. My Valentine
  • 09. Always
  • 10. My Very Good Friend The Milkman
  • 11. Bye Bye Blackbird
  • 12. Get Yourself Another Fool
  • 13. The Inch Worm
  • 14. Only Our Hearts
  • 15. Baby's Request *
  • 16. My One And Only Love *

    * Deluxe CD album

    Paul McCartney Tour Dates :: Paul McCartney News


    [Published on: 1/9/12]

    Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

    You'll receive

    show alerts

    when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

    free tickets

    , gain the ability to

    share your personalized live music calendar

    and much more. Join JamBase!