Jakob Dylan: New Album Out 4/6


Jakob Dylan
Jakob Dylan will release his sophomore solo album, Women and Country, on Columbia Records on April 6. Soulful yet striking and ripe with sublime beauty, Women and Country is the follow up to the artist's 2008 critically acclaimed debut, Seeing Things.

This new collection finds Dylan reuniting with acclaimed Grammy and Golden Globe winning producer T Bone Burnett (Robert Plant, Alison Krauss, Crazy Heart), who produced the Wallflowers' 1996 breakthrough album Bringing Down the Horse. On this release, Jakob is also joined by Neko Case and Kelly Hogan, who provide back-up vocals to eight of the album's 11 tracks.

"I'm so happy to be collaborating with Jakob at this exciting and vital time in his life as an artist," said T Bone Burnett. "I think this new album is an important work from a great musician."

On Women and Country Jakob reaches new majestic heights with his voice and song-writing. This, coupled with Burnett's haunting production and the stirringly rich vocals by Case and Hogan, creates a powerful and melancholic experience for the listener.

Backing Jakob Dylan up on the album's 11 songs are Burnett's s acclaimed group of musicians including Dennis Crouch (bass), Jay Bellerose (drums), David Mansfield (fiddle & mandolin), Marc Ribot (guitar), Keefus Ciancia (keyboards), Greg Leisz (pedal steel), Darrell Leonard (trumpet), Ira Nepus (trombone) and George Bohanon (horns).

Women and Country Track Listing
1. Nothing But The Whole Wide World
2. Down On Our Shield
3. Lend A Hand
4. We Don’t Live Here Anymore
5. Everybody’s Hurting
6. Yonder Come the Blues
7. Holy Rollers for Love
8. Truth For A Truth
9. They’ve Trapped US Boys
10. Smile When You Call Me That
11. Standing Eight Count


[Published on: 2/8/10]

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!



To read comments and participate in this story, please visit the Articles forum »