Watch Wilco Premiere New Song ‘Pittsburgh’ In Tulsa

The band debuted both the title track and “Pittsburgh” from their forthcoming album, Cousins, at Cain’s Ballroom.

By Scott Bernstein Sep 27, 2023 8:42 am PDT

Wilco are gearing up for the release of their 13th studio album, Cousin, which arrives this Friday, September 29 via their dBpm Records label. The band opened their show last night at Cain’s Ballroom in Tulsa, Oklahoma with the live debut of Cousin cut “Pittsburgh” and later played the title track in concert for the first time.

“Pittsburgh” is the eighth of 10 tracks on the Cate Le Bon-produced Cousin, while the title track fills the seven-slot. Wilco Has been performing the album’s lead single, “Evicted,” live in concert for the past month. “Evicted” also made the setlist in Tulsa on Tuesday.

Frontman Jeff Tweedy performed “Pittsburgh” during a June 2021 episode of The Tweedy Show. The slow-burning number dates back to the sessions for 2019’s Ode To Joy as pointed out by Spin. Guitarist Nels Cline added angular and powerful riffs heavy on tremolo between verses last night. Tweedy stuck with acoustic guitar in similar fashion to the version from The Tweedy Show.

View fan-shot video featuring nearly all of Wilco’s first live “Pittsburgh” below:

Greg Brewer
Wilco (See 125 videos)

Tulsa has a deep and rich musical history. Jeff Tweedy talked about the band’s ventures around town before performing “California Stars” late in the main set. He also told the crowd a bit of Cain’s Ballroom trivia asking, “Did you know this is the only place where Bob Wills, the Six Pistols and Wilco has played?”

The three Cousin cuts were among 21 songs performed by Wilco last night in Tulsa. Jeff Tweedy and his bandmates played four songs a piece off 2002’s Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, 2004’s A Ghost Is Born and for what a few days still serves as their latest studio album — 2022’s Cruel Country. Wilco closed out the evening with an encore consisting of “Falling Apart (Right Now),” “Via Chicago” and “Spiders (Kidsmoke).” The band now heads to Dallas on Thursday.

Loading tour dates


Wilco at Cain's Ballroom

  • Pittsburgh  
  • Handshake Drugs
  • I Am My Mother
  • Cruel Country
  • I Am Trying to Break Your Heart
  • Kamera
  • Side With the Seeds
  • Hummingbird
  • Bird Without a Tail / Base of My Skull
  • Cousin  
  • Misunderstood
  • Evicted
  • Impossible Germany
  • Jesus, Etc.
  • California Stars  
  • The Late Greats
  • Heavy Metal Drummer
  • A Shot in the Arm
  • Falling Apart (Right Now)
  • Via Chicago
  • Spiders (Kidsmoke)
More Wilco News
  • Watch Wilco Spot ‘California Stars’ With Courtney Marie Andrews In The Netherlands

    Watch Wilco Spot ‘California Stars’ With Courtney Marie Andrews In The Netherlands 

  • Revisiting Wilco & Bob Weir’s Masterful ‘Dark California Stars’ Performances

    Revisiting Wilco & Bob Weir’s Masterful ‘Dark California Stars’ Performances 

  • Meet Wilco's ‘Cousin’ & Preview New Album With ‘Evicted’ Single

    Meet Wilco's ‘Cousin’ & Preview New Album With ‘Evicted’ Single 

JamBase Collections