Widespread Panic Works Bust Outs Into Washington D.C. Run Opener


On Thursday, Widespread Panic began a three-night stand at The Theater At MGM National Harbor in the Washington, D.C. suburb of Oxon Hill, Maryland. The band fit in many song choices that could be interpreted as political in nature, busted out a Beatles cover that hadn’t been performed in over 800 shows and dusted off a few songs that hadn’t been played in years.

The sextet opened with the pairing of classics “Wondering” and “Hope In A Hopeless World” before they performed “Steven’s Cat” from 2015’s Street Dogs LP. Panic then offered an expansive “Rebirtha” and followed with “You Should Be Glad.” The first big surprise of the evening was the inclusion of “Travelin’ Man,” which was last played on June 25, 2014. Last night’s “Travelin’ Man” was WSP’s first with Duane Trucks on drums. The set concluded with the instrumental “The Take Out” along with The Band covers “The Shape I’m In” and “Ophelia” as well as fan favorite “Porch Song.” John Bell & Co. hadn’t performed “The Shape I’m In” since October 22, 2016.

Last night’s second set started off with a run of “Old Neighborhood,” “Visiting Day” and “Can’t Get High.” Panic then took “Airplane” deep ahead of Dirty Side Down’s “Jaded Tourist.” The set continued with a take on Jerry Joseph’s “North” that gave way to the evening’s “Drums” segment. From there, John Bell led his mates through their first cover of The Beatles’ “Come Together” since a November 11, 2005 concert in Denver – an unbelievable span of 819 shows. All seven prior Panic covers of “Come Together” came in 2005.

“Surprise Valley” ended Thursday night’s second set. Panic returned last night for a two-song encore that began with “Radio Child.” Bell then fronted the band on a cover of Buffalo Springfield’s “For What It’s Worth” to end the concert. Widespread Panic returns to The Theater At MGM National Harbor on Friday.

Listen to Panic work through “Come Together” thanks to Z-Man’s audience recording:

Setlist (via PanicStream)

Set One: Wondering, Hope In A Hopeless World, Steven’s Cat, Rebirtha > Jam, You Should Be Glad, Travelin’ Man^, The Take Out, The Shape I’m In^^, Ophelia, Porch Song (67 mins)

Set Two: Old Neighborhood, Visiting Day, Can’t Get High, Airplane > Jaded Tourist, North > Drums > Come Together^^^ > Surprise Valley (78 mins)

Encore: Radio Child, For What It’s Worth (14 mins)

  • ^ LTP 6/25/14 Kansas City (221 shows)
  • ^^ LTP 10/22/16 Milwaukee (47 shows)
  • ^^^ LTP 11/04/05 Denver (819 shows)

Tour Dates for
Widespread Panic

  • Oct
  • Oct
  • Oct
  • Oct
  • Oct
  • Oct
    • Carretera Cancun-Chetumal KM 72
    • Riviera Maya
    • Mexico