Widespread Panic Announces ‘Miss Kitty’s Lounge’ 1990 Demo Album

Phish keyboardist Page McConnell was among contributors to the sessions featured on 'Miss Kitty's Lounge.'

By Scott Bernstein Aug 31, 2021 9:25 am PDT

Widespread Panic will issue a collection of previously unreleased demos recorded in 1990 as Miss Kitty’s Lounge. The 14-track collection arrives in December 2021 digitally and on vinyl with limited edition vinyl available for pre-sale from independent record stores.

Miss Kitty’s Lounge features the original five members of Widespread Panic: guitarists John Bell and Michael Houser, drummer Todd Nance, bassist Dave Schools and percussionist Domingo “Sunny” Ortiz. The band was joined by John Keane on guitar, Page McConnell of Phish on organ and Randall Bramblett on saxophone for the sessions included on the upcoming release.

Widespread Panic and their guests assembled at John Keane’s studios in Athens in the winter of 1990 for the demo tracking sessions featured on Miss Kitty’s Lounge. Both Keane and Bell wrote liner notes for the set.

“This was Widespread Panic un-filtered — or, at least self-filtered — filling in almost every cranny with sound and movement,” wrote John Bell. “They provide an interesting snapshot of where the band was at the time; more stripped down and guitar oriented prior to the addition of a full time keyboard player,” added John Keane.

Miss Kitty’s Lounge Tracklist

Side A

  1. A of D
  2. C Brown
  3. Rock
  4. Pigeons

Side B

  1. Holden Oversoul
  2. Proving Ground
  3. The Last Straw
  4. Love Tractor

Side C

  1. Machine
  2. Barstools And Dreamers
  3. Contentment Blues

Side D

  1. Impossible
  2. LA
  3. Conrad
JamBase Collections