White Denim Shares New Single ‘It Might Get Dark’

Austin, Texas-based White Denim will release a new studio album Performance on August 24 through City Slang. The band has shared “It Might Get Dark,” the latest single from the forthcoming LP.

The current White Denim lineup of White Denim guitarist James Petralli and bassist Steve Terebecki, along with keyboardist Michael Hunter and former NRBQ drummer Conrad Choucroun recorded the follow-up to 2016’s Stiff at their Radio Milk recording facility in their hometown. The nine-track album includes the previously issued single “Magazin.”

According to Petralli, “It Might Get Dark” is “loosely based on an old White Denim motif called ‘Pretty Boys and Girls,’” further explaining:

Though the trio performed the tune hundreds of times, “Pretty Boys and Girls” never landed on a record. We re-wrote the absolute shit out of it, nodded to Loose Fur’s “Laminated Cat” in the new production and feel, stuck the “Mister Sandman” arpeggio in the bridge, and now the biz execs have determined that it’s the summer smash we’ve not necessarily been waiting for … Either way, we hope you enjoy the sprightly despair of “It Might Get Dark.”

Check out the “It Might Get Dark” lyric video below:


Here’s the lyric video for the Performance lead single “Magazin”:


Performance Tracklist

  1. Magazin
  2. Performance
  3. Fine Slime
  4. Double Death
  5. Moves On
  6. It Might Get Dark
  7. Sky Beaming
  8. Backseat Driver
  9. Good News
  • Upcoming Shows

Related Articles