[UPDATED] Warren Haynes Teams With Dave Matthews Band At Madison Square Garden



  • May 22, 2019 • 6:08 pm PDT

UPDATE: Dave Matthews Band shared pro-shot video of “Cortez The Killer” featuring Warren Haynes:

Dave Matthews Band closed out a two-night stand at New York City’s Madison Square Garden on Friday. For the second evening in a row, the Charlottesville-born band were joined by guests. Last night they teamed with their longtime friend Warren Haynes for a takes “Cortez The Killer” and “Tripping Billies.” DMB also welcomed a handful of horn players and guitarist Mark Whitfield to guest with them throughout the night.

The jamband stalwarts got their night going at The World’s Most Famous Arena with the old-school “One Sweet World.” From there the band would judiciously work their way through selections from seven of their studio albums delivering takes on fan-favorites like “Everday,” “Do You Remember,” “Digging A Ditch,” “Don’t Drink The Water” and “Crash Into Me.” Josh Faddis was the first guest of the night as the trumpeter assisted on takes of “Warehouse” and Peter Gabriel’s “Sledgehammer.” A few songs later Whitfield emerged for “Captain,” marking the second time he’s sat in with Dave Matthews & Co. this year.

The biggest surprise of the night came shortly after as Haynes was welcomed to the stage. Last night was the first time the Gov’t Mule frontman has guested with them since 2015. Haynes’ relationship with Dave Matthews Band stretches all the way back to 1993 when he first sat in with them during a gig at The Wetlands. The augmented ensemble dug in on “Cortez The Killer” delivering an expansive take on their frequent collaboration choice. The Zuma cut got stretched out for nearly 17-minutes and marked the 11th time they’ve played the tune together. Haynes then stuck around for one more song adding guitar to “Tripping Billies,” marking the first time he’s lent on a hand on the tune from Remember Two Things.

Saxophonists Ron Blake and James Casey (Trey Anastasio Band) along with Faddis assisted on the final two songs of the 17-song main set. The meaty ensemble closed things out with the pairing of “Jimi Thing” and a partial take on Prince’s “Sexy M.F.” Dave Matthews Band tapped “So Right” and “Grey Street” to bring their two-night run in The Big Apple to end. Watch fan-shot video from last night below:

Cortez The Killer w. Warren Haynes Captured by DogeTube Concerts

Tripping Billies w. Warren Haynes Captured by From The Archives


Jimi Thing > Sexy M.F. Captured by From The Archives


Captain Captured by DogeTube Concerts


Dave Matthews Band at Madison Square Garden

  • One Sweet World
  • Granny
  • Everyday  
  • Seven
  • Do You Remember
  • Crush  
  • When I'm Weary
  • Warehouse
  • Sledgehammer  
  • Digging a Ditch
  • Don't Drink the Water
  • Captain
  • Crash Into Me
  • Cortez the Killer  
  • Tripping Billies
  • She  
  • Jimi Thing  
  • Sexy M.F.  
  • So Right
  • Grey Street

Tour Dates for
Dave Matthews Band