Vince Herman Details Debut Solo Album ‘Enjoy The Ride’ & Shares Single

The Leftover Salmon co-founder also announced tour dates with his new solo band in support of the upcoming LP.

By Scott Bernstein Oct 5, 2022 11:30 am PDT

Leftover Salmon co-founder Vince Herman will release his debut solo album, Enjoy The Ride, via LoHi Records on November 18. Vince announced a series of solo tour dates with musicians who contributed to the 12-song country music LP and unveiled the set’s opening track and lead single, “Lost Lover’s Eyes.”

The story of Enjoy The Ride began in August 2020, when Vince hit the road for what turned into a five-month journey. “During the pandemic, I got an RV and just decided to have my own bubble and drive around the country,” Herman explained. The veteran musician spent over a month in Nashville, where he connected with new manager and publisher Erv Woolsey after an introduction by old pals Donnie and Chris Davisson of the Davisson Brothers Band. Both Woolsey and the Davissons assisted Vince in setting up writing sessions.

After a short period Vince had amassed “a big pile of songs” and decided to record a solo album for the first time in his +30-year career. “The Davissons had worked with Ferg [producer David Ferguson] on their upcoming new record, and I met Ferg, and we got along great,” Herman added. David Ferguson (Johnny Cash, Sturgill Simpson, John Prine) produced the LP and assembled a backing band for Vince.

The bulk of Enjoy The Ride was tracked over a period of three days at Nashville’s The Cowboy Arms Hotel And Recording Spa in December 2021. Herman’s band for the sessions featured guitarist Pat McLaughlin, multi-instrumentalist Darrell Scott, bassist Dave Roe, drummer Pete Abbott, keyboardist Mike Rojas, guitarist and pedal steel player Russ Pahl, fiddlers Jason Carter and Bronwyn Keith-Hynes as well as Vince’s son Silas Herman on mandolin. Overdubs and mixing were added at Ferguson’s Butcher Shack facility.

Enjoy the Ride represents what country music is to me,” noted Vince. “Rooted in tradition but wide open and ready for a good ride.”

Vince Herman will be joined by a new band consisting of Silas and several Nashville players for a tour in support of Enjoy The Ride. The ensemble kicks off the trek in Winston-Salem, North Carolina on November 3. Additional dates include stops in Southeast, California, Colorado and Midwest. Find Vince’s full touring schedule below:

Loading tour dates

The John Prine-esque “Lost Lover’s Eyes” opens Enjoy The Ride. Listen to the album’s first single:

Enjoy The Ride Tracklist

  1. Lost Lover’s Eyes
  2. Flying
  3. The Ride
  4. Coraleen
  5. Rattlesnake
  6. Any Other Way
  7. I’d Rather Be Alone
  8. Better Way
  9. Lately
  10. Old Pictures
  11. All Outta Love Songs
  12. Drinking Alone
JamBase Collections