Umphrey’s McGee Welcomes Marcus King & Unearths Bob Marley Cover At Milwaukee Finale – Full Show Audio

By Jeffrey Greenblatt Jan 27, 2019 8:30 am PST

Umphrey’s McGee brought their two-night stand at the Riverside Theater in Milwaukee to a close on Saturday. The six-piece band was joined by Marcus King during their opening set along with dusting off Bob Marley’s “Come In From The Cold” for the first time since 2002.

The Chicago-based band opened up their night with an impressive segue-filled stretch as they dug in on “There’s No Crying In Mexico,” “Divisions,” which was trotted out for just the third time since 2017 and “Make It Right.” King emerged next as the guitarist teamed up with Umphrey’s for a take on “Bad Friday.” After an expansive version of “2×2” the sextet acknowledged the frigid temperature outside by unearthing Bob Marley’s “Coming In From The Cold.” The track from Uprising had been sitting untouched since October 9, 2002 – a span seventeen-plus years and 1,880 shows. The song, which was a frequent cover in the early-2000s worked its way into “Professor Wormbog” with the band returning to “Divisions” to bring the frame to a close.

The prog-jam rockers used setlist staple “1348” to start and end the stanza. In between the band would dig in a pair of notable seamless runs. “Prowler,” which was served up for the first time since August of last year kicked off the first. Just the seventh version of “The Fuzz” since 2015 followed with “The Floor” closing out the stretch. “Utopian Fir” got the final portion of the night going with “Kula” and a return to “1348” putting a cap on set. Umphrey’s McGee offered up a cover of the Talking Heads’ “Making Flippy Floppy” to bring their time in Milwaukee to an end.

Listen to full show audio which includes the band’s VIP set taped by Michael Frasca below:

Setlist (via All Thing’s Umphrey’s)

Set I: There’s No Crying In Mexico > Divisions > Make It Right, Bad Friday[1], 2×2, Coming In From The Cold > Professor Wormbog > Divisions

Set II: 1348 > The Silent Type[2], Prowler[3] > The Fuzz[4] > The Floor, Utopian Fir[5] > Kula > 1348

Encore: Making Flippy Floppy[6]

[1] with Marcus King on guitar, [2] with Don’t Stand So Close to Me (The Police) teases, [3] with The Imperial March (John Williams) tease, [4] with Big Heart (Lounge Lizards) jam, [5] with Bombtrack (Rage Against the Machine) jam and quote; with Jake on drums; with Home (The New Deal) jam, [6] with One Nation Under a Groove (Funkadelic) and Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring (Bach) teases

JamBase Collections