Trombone Shorty Details New Album ‘Lifted’ & Shares Single

Listen to “Come Back” off the record due in April.

By Andy Kahn Feb 18, 2022 7:16 am PST

Trombone Shorty will release a new album entitled Lifted on April 29 through the venerable Blue Note Records. The New Orleans native shared the record’s lead single, “Come Back.”

Trombone Shorty (Troy Andrews) tracked Lifted, his first album in five years, at his NOLA-based Buckjump Studio. Produced by Chris Seefried, the 10-song LP features guest contributions by Gary Clark Jr., Lauren Daigle, and the New Breed Brass Band.


The album’s title and cover art were inspired by Shorty’s relationship with his mother, Lois Nelson Andrews. The record is dedicated to her memory. Regarding his mother, Trombone Shorty stated:

“She passed recently, but she continued to inspire me right up until she transitioned, and that’s why I put a picture of her holding me up at a second line on the cover of this album. She lifted me up my whole life.

“I think Lifted is the closest we’ve ever gotten to bottling up the live show and putting it on a record. This time around I told everybody to really cut loose, to perform like they were onstage at a festival.”

Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue recently announced their Voodoo Threauxdown Tour 2022 featuring support from fellow NOLA musicians Tank and the Bangas, Big Freedia, Cyril Neville and The Soul Rebels as well as George Porter Jr. and Dumpstaphunk performing the music of The Meters.

Stream Trombone Shorty’s new single, “Come Back,” below:

Lifted Tracklist

  1. Come Back
  2. Lie to Me
  3. I’m Standing Here (Feat. Gary Clark, Jr.)
  4. What It Takes (Feat. Lauren Daigle)
  5. Everybody in the World (Feat. New Breed Brass Band)
  6. Lifted
  7. Forgiveness
  8. Miss Beautiful
  9. Might Not Make It Home
  10. Good Company

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections