Thurston Moore Announces New Album & Shares Single Featuring Stereolab’s Lætitia Sadier

“A warrior against war.” – Thurson Moore on new single, “Sans Limites.”

By Nate Todd Jun 20, 2024 1:30 pm PDT

Sonic Youth co-founder Thurston Moore confirmed a new album, Flow Critical Lucidity, arriving on September 20 through The Daydream Library Series label. Moore also shared the single “Sans Limites” featuring vocals from Stereolab’s Lætitia Sadier.

Arranged at La Becque in Switzerland and recorded at Total Refreshment Studios in London in 2022, Flow Critical Lucidity marks Thurston Moore’s ninth solo album and follow up to 2021’s Screen Time. Joining Thurston on the record is his band consisting of Deb Googe on bass, Jem Doulton on percussion, James Sedwards on guitar/piano and Jon Leidecker adding electronics. Moore mixed the LP with Margo Broom at Hermitage Studios in London.


Moore previously released three Flow Critical Lucidity singles: “Isadora,” “Hypnogram” and “Rewilding.” Along with the album announcement, Thurston shared “Sans Limites.”

“‘Sans Limites’ begins with a cyclic guitar and piano figure,” Moore said of the new track, “which expands further and further with each revolution before settling into a two-chord measure introducing lyrics intoning not only about eradicating any limitations towards enlightenment, but going beyond limitations. The idea that a soldier can fight the good fight. A warrior against war.”

Preview Flow Critical Lucidity with “Sans Limites” below:

Loading tour dates

Flow Critical Lucidity Tracklist:

  1. New in Town
  2. Sans Limites
  3. Shadow
  4. Hypnogram
  5. We Get High
  6. Rewilding
  7. The Diver
  8. Bonus track on flexi of LP edition: Isadora (Bedazzled Mix)
JamBase Collections