The Smile Releases ‘Thin Thing’ Single

Watch the stop-motion animated video for 'Thin Thing' six months in the making.

By Nate Todd May 9, 2022 2:24 pm PDT

The Smile, featuring Radiohead’s Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood as well as Sons of Kemet’s Tom Skinner, shared a new single, “Thin Thing.” The track will land on the trio’s forthcoming album, A Light For Attracting Attention, due out on May 13 through XL Recordings.

The Smile previously released the A Light For Attracting Attention singles “You Will Never Work In Television Again,” “The Smoke,” unreleased Radiohead song “Skrting on the Surface” and “Pana-Vison.” The official LP announcement on April 20 was accompanied by a fifth single, “Free In The Knowledge.”

The band now shares “Thin Thing.” The single arrived along with a stop-motion animated video by Cristóbal León and Joaquín Cociña which was six months in the making.

“Hearing the song for the first time, we imagined a frenetic fluid that carries machines, pieces of human bodies and carnivorous plants,” the video’s creators revealed. “When presenting the idea to the band, Thom told us about a dream that made him write the song. We believe the video is the conjunction of these two things.”

Watch the video for “Thin Thing” below:

Loading band summary

JamBase Collections