The Smile Confirms Debut Album ‘A Light For Attracting Attention’ & Shares Single

The group features Radiohead’s Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood and Sons of Kemet’s Tom Skinner.

By Andy Kahn Apr 20, 2022 9:31 am PDT

The SmileRadiohead‘s Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood along with Tom Skinner of Sons of Kemet — will release their debut album, A Light For Attracting Attention on May 13 through XL Recordings. The group shared another single from the forthcoming release, “Free In The Knowledge.”

The Smile previously released the album tracks “You Will Never Work In Television Again,” “The Smoke,” “Skrting on the Surface” (an unreleased Radiohead song) and “Pana-Vison,” which appeared on the series finale of Peaky Blinders. The 13-track LP was produced and mixed by longtime Radiohead collaborator Nigel Godrich.

A Light For Attracting Attention features contributions from The London Contemporary Orchestra, Byron Wallen, Theon Cross, Nathaniel Cross, Chelsea Carmichael, Robert Stillman and Jason Yarde. The album’s May 13 digital release will be followed by physical formats (CD and vinyl) coming out on June 17.

Leo Leigh directed a video accompanying “Free In The Knowledge.” The song was first performed by Yorke in December 2021 at his first public performance since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic, and he dedicated the song to “all fellow UK musicians.” Watch the “Free In Knowledge” video below:

A Light For Attracting Attention Tracklist

  1. The Same
  2. The Opposite
  3. You Will Never Work in Television Again
  4. Pana-vision
  5. The Smoke
  6. Speech Bubbles
  7. Thin Thing
  8. Open The Floodgates
  9. Free In The Knowledge
  10. A Hairdryer
  11. Waving A White Flag
  12. We Don’t Know What Tomorrow Brings
  13. Skrting On The Surface

Loading band summary

JamBase Collections