The Murlocs Show A Little ‘Initiative’ & Announce New Album ‘Calm Ya Farm’

Watch the music video for “Initiative.”

By Nate Todd Mar 22, 2023 4:05 pm PDT

Melbourne, Australia’s The Murlocs confirmed a new album, Calm Ya Farm, due out on May 19 via ATO Records. The band led by King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard’s Ambrose Kenny-Smith shared the single “Initiative.”

The Murlocs are vocalist/guitarist/harmonica player Kenny-Smith, his King Gizz bandmate bassist Cook Craig, guitarist Callum Shortal, drummer Matt Blach and keyboardist Tim Karmouche. Calm Ya Farm is the follow-up to the band’s 2022 album Rapscallion.

The new album sees The Murlocs leaving the harder rock sounds of Rapscallion to create “a quintessential country-rock record: inspired by iconic albums like The Byrds’ Sweetheart of the Rodeo as well as the hazier edges of the mid-’70s British pub-rock scene,” as per a press release.

“With this record we tried to steer away from all the distortion and dirt and grit,” Kenny-Smith said, “or at least let the grit come off a bit more clean-sounding. [Calm Ya Farm is] something my partner always says to me when I’m feeling stressed-out or anxious,” Ambrose added. “It made sense with the whole country theme of the record, but it’s generally a good reminder for day-to-day life.”

The Murlocs previewed Calm Ya Farm with the opening track, “Initiative,” which Kenny-Smith also detailed.

“It’s about recognizing the need to start taking responsibility for your life instead of always living in the now and killing all your brain cells along the way,” he said. “Not everyone wants the big family and the big house with the white picket fence. Everything happens for a reason and sometimes you need to take things more seriously and make a few power moves in life to find out what comes next in the crystal ball.”

“Initiative” arrived with a music video created by Guy Tyzack. Watch below:

Loading tour dates

Calm Ya Farm Tracklist:

  1. Initiative
  2. Common Sense Civilian
  3. Russian Roulette
  4. Superstitious Insights
  5. Centennial Perspective
  6. Queen Pinky
  7. Undone And Unashamed
  8. Captain Cotton Mouth
  9. Catfish
  10. Smithereens
  11. Forbidden Toad
  12. Aletophyte
JamBase Collections