The Last Waltz Ensemble Dates

Advertisement
Advertisement
The Last Waltz Ensemble Tour Dates

The Last Waltz Ensemble
The Last Waltz Ensemble, the jam group that progressively plays the music of Bob Dylan and The Band, continues its retrospective rock ‘n roll road show.

The group has announced five August shows featuring CR Gruver on keys. Gruver is the well-known keyboardist from the up-and-coming jam powerhouse, Outformation. The first show is August 1 at Smith’s Olde Bar in Atlanta, Georgia. This show also features Scott Warren from Captain Soularcat, Ted Pecchio from the Susan Tedeschi Band, and an opening set from Atlanta’s blues and Americana legend Bill Sheffield.

Other shows with Gruver include August 2 at The Surrey Tavern in Augusta, Georgia; a pair of North Carolina shows on August 21 at The Lincoln Theater in Raleigh and August 22 at KEFI in Wilmington; and one last gig rounding out the lot on August 23 in Statesboro, Georgia at The French Quarter Cafe.

The band will bring its southern fried versions of Dylan and Band gems to cities throughout much of the Northeast and Southeast late this summer and fall, including a show at B.B. King’s in NYC on August 9.

The touring lineup includes Kris “Jelly” Gloer on guitar & vocals, Kevin Rutschman on drums, Eric Reed on bass & vocals, Mark “Poncho” Kramer on vocals & guitar, Jason Fuller on keys & vocals, and Captain Soularcat’s Benji Shanks on guitar.

Shanks is fresh off a cameo appearance with Widespread Panic at the venerable Tennessee Theatre. The capacity crowd was thrilled in the first set when Shanks joined Panic for a rollicking version of “Ophelia,” a Last Waltz Ensemble favorite.

Oliver Wood, a frequent guest of The Last Waltz Ensemble, is quoted as saying, “I really admire what Kris and The Last Waltz Ensemble are doing. It’s about camaraderie and creativity and bringing musicians together to try different things. It would be easy to do the same show every night with the same band of guys, but they really mix it up. I’m proud to be included from time to time!”

The Last Waltz Ensemble Tour Dates
08/01/08 Fri Smith’s Olde Bar Atlanta, GA
08/02/08 Sat Surrey Tavern Augusta, GA
08/06/08 Wed Ham’s Restaurant Richmond, VA
08/07/08 Thu Musikfest Bethlehem, PA
08/08/08 Fri Keltic House Fishkill, NY
08/09/08 Sat B.B. King Blues Club New York, NY
08/10/08 Sun Iota Arlington, VA
08/14/08 Thu Over the Mountain Rockton, PA
08/15/08 Fri Cuyahoga Falls Amphitheater Cuyahoga Falls, OH
08/16/08 Sat Warren Community Amphitheatre Warren, OH
08/21/08 Thu Lincoln Theatre Raleigh, NC
08/22/08 Fri KEFI Wilmington, NC
08/23/08 Sat French Quarter Cafe Statesboro, GA
08/28/08 Thu Jupiter Bar & Grill Tuscaloosa, AL
08/29/08 Fri Auburn University Auburn, AL
08/30/08 Sat Bourbon Street Bar Auburn, AL
09/05/08 Fri Chelsea’s Baton Rouge, LA
09/06/08 Sat The Bottling Company Hattiesburg, MS
09/11/08 Thu State Theatre Starkville, MS
09/12/08 Fri University of Alabama Tuscaloosa, AL
09/13/08 Sat Crossroads Huntsville, AL
09/19/08 Fri Proud Larry’s Oxford, MS
09/26/08 Fri Auburn University Auburn, AL
09/27/08 Sat Bourbon Street Bar Auburn, AL
10/03/08 Fri The Pour House Charleston, SC
10/04/08 Sat Charley O’Corley’s Irish Pub Valdosta, GA

Advertisement

Featured Articles


More articles