Tedeschi Trucks Band Welcomes Wynonna Judd At The Ryman

Tedeschi Trucks Band continued their winter tour on Friday night as they pulled into Nashville for a pair of shows at historic Ryman Auditorium. The Southern rock and soul ensemble offered up “An Evening With…” affair that saw them welcome a country music legend for a handful of songs to close out the night.

Tedeschi Trucks Band worked their way through their usual mix of originals and covers, opening the night off with a “Do I Looked Worried” from their 2013 release Made Up My Mind and “Don’t Know What It Means” from 2016’s Let Me Get By. The Box Tops’ number one hit “The Letter” followed, as the meaty ensemble’s nine-song first set saw them focus their efforts mostly on their material from their own catalog serving up versions of “Until You Remember,” “Don’t Drift Away,” “Part Of Me” and “I Want More.”

Susan and Derek showed off their wide array of influences during their second frame as they got things going with a take on Tom Petty’s “You Know How It Feels.” The band then moved from New Orleans R&B with Allan Toussaint’s “Get Out My Life Woman,” to Motown with the Four Tops’ “Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever,” to classic country with George Jones’ “Color Of The Blues.” Blue-eyed soul was featured with Delaney & Bonnie’s “Comin’ Home” while the blues got the nod with “I Pity The Fool” from Bobby “Blue” Bland.


The band closed things out by inviting out local country music legend Wynonna Judd to join them. The multi-platinum selling singer is no stranger to the jam scene, having previously guested with Phish back in June of 2000 at the AmSouth Amphitheatre in Antioch, Tennessee on a full band cover of Lynyrd Skynyrd’s “Free Bird”. Judd assisted the Tedeschi Trucks Band on one of their signature tunes “Bound For Glory” to close out the set. Judd then returned during the encore to lend a hand the Delta blues classic “Rollin’ and Tumblin'” and a pair of Sly & The Family Stone songs – “Sing a Simple Song” and “I Want to Take You Higher.”



Tedeschi Trucks Band at Ryman Auditorium

Set I
  • Do I Look Worried
  • Don't Know What It Means
  • The Letter  
  • Until You Remember
  • Chevrolet  
  • Don't Drift Away
  • Part of Me
  • I Want More
  • Soul Sacrifice (outro)  
Set II
  • You Don't Know How It Feels  
  • Made Up Mind
  • Get Out of My Life, Woman  
  • Midnight in Harlem
  • Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever  
  • Color of the Blues  
  • Comin' Home  
  • I Pity the Fool  
  • Bound for Glory
  • Rollin' and Tumblin'  
  • Sing a Simple Song  
  • I Want to Take You Higher  
  • Upcoming Shows

Related Articles