T Bone Burnett Announces 1st Solo Album Since 2006 ‘The Other Side’ & Shares Single Featuring Lucius

“Waiting For You” boasts harmony vocals from Jess Wolfe and Holly Laessig.

By Nate Todd Feb 28, 2024 11:32 am PST

Renowned producer and musician T Bone Burnett announced his first solo album since 2006, The Other Side, due out April 19 via Verve Forecast. Burnett previewed the record with “Waiting For You,” featuring LuciusJess Wolfe and Holly Laessig.

Burnett co-produced The Other Side — the follow up to his 2006 solo record The True False Identity — with Colin Linden and Mike Piersante. Along with Lucius, who appear on three The Other Side tracks, the LP also sees guest turns from Rosanne Cash, Weyes Blood and early Burnett bandmate Steven Soles. The Grammy and Oscar-winning producer assembled a team of longtime collaborators to perform on the LP including Dennis Crouch, Stuart Duncan, Jay Bellerose and Rory Hoffman.


The Other Side is a return to Burnett’s roots as a singer and songwriter, delving deeply into the myriad genres of American Music,” as per a press release. “The 12-song collection is centered on a love story, following the journey of a couple that may no longer be of this plane.”

Although the record contains older pieces of music Burnett had been crafting, the lion’s share of The Other Side was written in a flurry of inspiration after the musician bought some new guitars.

“Every time I picked one up, a song would pour out of it,” Burnett recalled on the creative process. “There were all these songs in these guitars. And they just came out over a three-week period.”

Some of the material sees Burnett ruminating on the word “you” in songs.

“I was reading a news story that some shocking percentage of number one hit songs had the word you in the title,” he said. “I view the purpose of art as creating conscience, so I was constantly appealing to people’s consciences, but I realized when a songwriter uses the word you, he is, of course, in the world of conscience, but he’s also in the world of people’s dreams. And when you enter into people’s dreams, you have to be very careful with them.”

Preview T Bone Burnett’s The Other Side with “Waiting For You” featuring Lucius below:

T Bone Burnett is set to embark on a tour of Nashville in May. Check out his itinerary with ticket info below.

Loading tour dates


The Other Side Tracklist:

  1. He Came Down
  2. Come Back (When You Go Away)
  3. (I’m Gonna Get Over This) Some Day (w/Rosanne Cash)
  4. Waiting For You (w/Lucius)
  5. The Pain Of Love (w/Lucius)
  6. The Race Is Won (w/Lucius)
  7. Sometimes I Wonder (w/Weyes Blood)
  8. Hawaiian Blue Song (w/Steven Soles)
  9. The First Light Of Day
  10. Everything And Nothing
  11. The Town That Time Forgot
  12. Little Darling
JamBase Collections