Sturgill Simpson Shares ‘Sing Along’ Single & Details New Album


Sturgill Simpson will release a new album and anime film, both entitled Sound & Fury via Elektra and Netflix respectively on September 27. Simpson unveiled a video for the LP’s lead single, “Sing Along.”

Sturgill recorded and produced the album at a studio north of Detroit with band mates Bobby Emmett, Chuck Bartels and Miles Miller. John Hill also co-produced the 10-track LP that serves as the follow-up to 2016’s A Sailor’s Guide To Earth. The film features different anime segments for each of the album’s songs.

Simpson discussed the song and album during an interview with Zane Lowe on the DJ’s Apple Music Beats 1 show, “World Record.” Here’s what Sturgill had to say about the LP:

I was kind of in a weird spot when we made that record. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to do this anymore because a lot of the business sides of things, and like some heartbreak and betrayal, and just learning things that you already know. Remind yourself that, you know-It is a dirty toxic industry. And I wanted to express a lot of that. And I was listening to a lot of hip-hop, and Black Sabbath, and The Cars, and old funk records and things. And I think… We were in Detroit while we were making the record, and I was sort of writing it in real time and listening to a lot of Eminem. And I was just like, man, this guy gets to talk mad shit. How come we can’t do that? So I just sat down and wrote a bunch of mad shit talking songs about how fucking awesome we are. And then we recorded it. And then I said, man, this isn’t weird enough. I should probably go to Japan and like get the five most legendary animation directors in history together and get them all drunk and put them to competition to see who can outdo one another and we’ll just animate the whole fucking album. And then that happens and I got the label to pay for it, and then now they want to put a single out. Even though I made a cohesive concept record and a film, we’re putting a song and a cartoon out as a video, which I didn’t want to make. And now I’m talking to Zane Lowe about it. What’s up dog?

The first look at the film and first taste of the record comes in the video for “Sing Along.” Watch the video for “Sing Along” below:

Sound & Fury Tracklist

  1. Ronin (Album Version)
  2. Remember to Breathe (Album Version)
  3. Sing Along (Album Version)
  4. A Good Look (Explicit Album Version)
  5. Make Art Not Friends (Album Version)
  6. Best Clockmaker on Mars (Album Version)
  7. All Said and Done (Album Version)
  8. Last Man Standing (Explicit Album Version)
  9. Mercury in Retrograde (Album Version)
  10. Fastest Horse in Town (Album Version)

Tour Dates for
Sturgill Simpson