Steve Gunn Announces New Album, Shares Single & Details Tour


Steve Gunn will release his latest studio album The Unseen In Between, his second on Matador Records, on January 18. Today, the guitarist/vocalist shared the record’s lead single “New Moon” and confirmed an extensive early-2019 world tour.

The nine-track effort was produced by James Elkington and engineered by Daniel Schlett with songs inspired by Gunn’s father succumbing to cancer after a two-year battle. The musician “explores his own emotional landscapes with his most complex, fully realized songs to date. The lyrics evoke voyages, tempests (actual and emotional), and a rich cast of characters met along the way — the work of an artist finding a place of calm in the midst of a storm” as per press materials. Watch the lyric video for the record’s lead single below:

Gunn will embark on a full band tour starting at Great Scott in Boston on January 31. From there, Steve & Co. play Philadelphia, San Diego, Los Angeles, Santa Cruz, Portland (Oregon), Seattle and San Francisco before heading to Europe.

The Unseen In Between Tracklist

  1. New Moon
  2. Vagabond
  3. Chance
  4. Stonehurst Cowboy
  5. Luciano
  6. New Familiar
  7. Lightning Field
  8. Morning Is Mended
  9. Paranoid