Star Kitchen Welcomes Shira Elias In Fairfield: Full Show Audio


Funk quartet Star Kitchen prepared for their upcoming Jam Cruise debut by performing in Baltimore on Friday and Fairfield on Saturday. The band featuring Marc Brownstein of The Disco Biscuits on bass, drummer Marlon Lewis, keyboardist Rob Marscher and guitarist Danny Mayer was joined by Turkuaz vocalist Shira Elias for portions of Saturday night’s show at StageOne in Fairfield, Connecticut.

Star Kitchen opened Saturday’s first of two sets with Kool & The Gang’s “Let The Music Take Your Mind.” The four-piece then jammed Bob James’ “Nautilus” into “Root Down” by Jimmy Smith which in turn gave way to a take on James Brown’s “Soul Power.” Elias emerged to help Star Kitchen close the frame with covers of Stevie Wonder’s “Living For The City” and “You Got The Love” by Rufus & Chaka Khan.

Shira was on hand as Star Kitchen kicked off their second set with groovy versions of JJ Cale’s “After Midnight” and Sly & The Family Stone’s “Sing A Simple Song.” The quartet went at it alone for Billy Cobham’s “Red Baron” and The Stylistics’ “People Make The World Go Round.” Star Kitchen concluded the set with “Walkin’ Sally” and Grant Green’s “Jan Jan” before serving up Bell Biv Devoe’s “Poison” as the evening’s encore. Listen to a soundboard matrix recording captured and shared by Eric McRoberts:


Set One: Let The Music Take Your Mind, Nautilus -> Root Down -> Soul Power, Living For The City*, You Got The Love*

Set Two: After Midnight* -> Sing A Simple Song *, Red Baron, People Make The World Go Round, Walkin’ Sally, Jan Jan

Encore: Poison

* – w/ Shira Elias

Tour Dates for
Star Kitchen

  • Apr
    • 15898 Route 22
    • Stephentown, NY 12168
    • United States
  • Jun
    • 204 Fairground Rd
    • Quincy, CA 95971
    • United States