Smashing Pumpkins Play Live Debuts & Bust Outs In San Antonio

Watch Billy Corgan and company dust off "Hello Kitty Kat" and more.

By Nate Todd May 3, 2022 12:37 pm PDT

The Smashing Pumpkins delivered their first non-festival headlining concert since August 2019 on Monday to break in San Antonio’s new Tech Port Center Arena. The renowned alt-rockers offered a pair of debuts and unshelved a trio of tunes for the encore.

The band led by Billy Corgan opened up the show with “The Colour Of Love” from their 2020 album CYR followed by Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness lead single “Bullet With Butterfly Wings.” The group would play four additional songs from their landmark 1995 album including an acoustic “Tonight, Tonight,” “Zero” and more.

After “Zero,” The Pumpkins offered the first live debut of the evening in the form of “Telegenix,” off the aforementioned 2020 LP CYR, followed by the unveiling of an unreleased song titled “FOL.” Corgan then led the band through the Mellon Collie classic “1979” and would close out the main set with the album’s “X.Y.U.”

The Smashing Pumpkins kicked off their three-song encore with the first “One and All (We Are),” since August 2015, as per SetlistFm stats. Following the track from 2014’s Monuments to an Elegy, The Pumpkins delivered the biggest bust out of the evening chronologically speaking in the form of “Hello Kitty Kat” appearing on the 1994 compilation Pisces Iscariot. Corgan and company had not performed the song since February 27, 1995. To close the concert, The Pumpkins dusted off “Silverfuck” from the band’s 1993 sophomore album Siamese Dream for its first time played since December 16, 2014.

Watch fan-shot video of the “Hello Kitty Kat” and “Silverfuck” bust outs along with “Tonight, Tonight” and “Zero” below:

Cam Ehly
The Smashing Pumpkins (See 72 videos)

311broncos (See 2 videos)
The Smashing Pumpkins (See 72 videos)

311broncos (See 2 videos)
The Smashing Pumpkins (See 72 videos)

Where’s Lonzo?
The Smashing Pumpkins (See 72 videos)


The Smashing Pumpkins at Tech Port Center + Arena

  • The Colour of Love
  • Bullet With Butterfly Wings
  • Today
  • Ugly
  • Drown
  • Quiet
  • Cyr
  • Once in a Lifetime  
  • Solara
  • Eye
  • Ava Adore
  • Tonight, Tonight  
  • Stand Inside Your Love
  • Cherub Rock
  • Zero
  • Telegenix  
  • FOL  
  • 1979
  • Disarm
  • If There Is a God
  • X.Y.U.
  • One and All (We Are)  
  • Hello Kitty Kat  
  • Silverfuck  

Loading band summary

JamBase Collections