Saturday Stream | The Expanded Yo La Tengo


After more than 30 years of creating music, Yo La Tengo has shown no signs of slowing down, evidenced by the recent announcement of Stuff Like That There, the band’s new studio album due out on Matador Records on August 28. For the new LP guitarist Ira Kaplan, drummer Georgia Hubley and bassist James McNew reunited with former guitarist Dave Schramm who also contributed to the band’s debut album Ride The Tiger as well as their 1990 album Fakebook 25 years ago. While the band’s albums with Schramm have tended toward the more conventional song structure, the Spotify playlist below –The Expanded Yo La Tengo – shows off the looser, more exploratory side of the band.

Never ones to shy from noisy, rocking, tension-filled excursions, Yo La Tengo both live and in the studio will present songs that stretch well beyond their more poppier numbers. Equally adept at writing a concise and catchy four-minute ditty, the band also often gets behind Kaplan’s ripping guitar for passionately hypnotic musical journeys that, like each of the songs on this playlist, go past the nine-minute mark. The 20 tracks below flow from their earliest material to their most recent releases and is over four hours long.