Roger Waters Reunites With Pink Floyd At Live 8 In 2005

The set still stands as the final Pink Floyd performance.

By Scott Bernstein Jul 2, 2021 6:30 am PDT

For just about 25 minutes on July 2, 2005 the eyes of the music world turned to London’s Hyde Park, where Roger Waters performed with David Gilmour, Nick Mason and Richard Wright for the first time in 24 years at the Live 8 concert. The long-awaited Pink Floyd reunion set consisted of “Speak to Me/Breathe/Breathe (Reprise),” “Money,” “Wish You Were Here” and “Comfortably Numb.”

Live 8 was a string of benefit concerts that took place at 10 locations scattered across the globe, organized with the aim of drawing attention to the plight of the poverty-stricken. Gilmour announced that Pink Floyd would reunite on June 12 with the following statement:

Like most people I want to do everything I can to persuade the G8 leaders to make huge commitments to the relief of poverty and increased aid to the third world. It’s crazy that America gives such a paltry percentage of its GNP to the starving nations. Any squabbles Roger and the band have had in the past are so petty in this context, and if re-forming for this concert will help focus attention then it’s got to be worthwhile.

Many of the performances, including Pink Floyd’s set, were broadcast live throughout the world. Floyd’s core four were joined by guitarist/bassist Tim Renwick and keyboardist/lap steel guitarist/backup vocalist Jon Carin for the full set, as well as saxophonist Dick Parry on “Money” and backing vocalist Carol Kenyon during “Comfortably Numb.”

Wright passed away in 2008, leaving the Pink Floyd appearance at Live 8 as the final time the band’s core four would perform together. Watch the full Pink Floyd reunion set from Live 8 below:

Pink Floyd (See 10 videos)

Set: Speak to Me/Breathe/Breathe (Reprise), Money, Wish You Were Here, Comfortably Numb

[Originally Published: July 2, 2014]

JamBase Collections